Mugging for the camera, errr, blog.

Well, I saved myself 10 bucks, I suppose.

From a post of March 6:

“While I didn’t accomplish anything toward a job change, I did achieve another goal of another variety that shall remain mysterious for the moment. Only clue: I’ll drink to that!!

Make an educated guess that comes close and win 10 bucks. Any risktakers out there?”

Sadly, only two guesses. (Where IS your sense of spirit and play, people?!) And neither correct. And the answer is …. {drum roll}

Each of those cross-offs represents achievement. Each is one more pint consumed toward the lofty goal of Mug Club membership.

Yup, 24 beers in total. Actually it was 48. Brews 2-for-1 at happy hour.

No small feat either! It wasn’t the beer-drinking part. That I got down. It was the drive. That pub, Govnr’s Park, is my favorite local hangout. Though “local” it could really hardly be called. It’s a 15-mile drive (24 km) into central Denver.

One way.

Is it worth it? Hell yeah! Though it’s not something I could or would do every day. To acquire Mug Club status, for sure it’s worth it.

What IS Mug Club? Before I get to that, there’s this:

That’s more than a delicious shot a mouth-watering roasty liquid craft. That’s my final beer. The end of the list. The culmination. The best saved for last. The Milk Stout by Left Hand Brewery in northern Colorado. A dark rich thick warmer saved for a bitter cold snowy day in March.

Only not so much, ironically:

Peer in and you might spot half the crowd in T-shirts!

The uncooperative climate, however, neither impeded nor diminished the pleasure. I drank that pint with all the relish of a starving man eating steak. Which, by and by, likely has fewer calories than that single glass!

An act that delivered me across the finish line into Mug Club status. What have I gained?

Other than a laminated card the size of a credit card with Mug Club on it you mean?

On Mondays – ONLY Mondays – from 5 to 6 p.m. – and ONLY from 5 to 6 p.m. – I drink from a large mug reportedly 28 ounces of the beer selected by the Mug Club. Free.

That one beer selected during deep and private discussions amongst Mug Club members.

Or a bunch of drunken fools who toss a dart on a taps list nailed to the wall.

Whichever, that chosen beer remains the freebie beer for members for a month.

So good on ya if ya like it! And tough toenails if ya don’t. Take me for example. My first month in Mug Club entitled me to:

Yuk!! Mug Club couldn’t have picked a lesser and comparatively worthless beer from the delish dozens on tap!

Did that stop me from drinking for free?

It did not.

April’s been Avalanche. A pleasant amber ale from the local Breckenridge Brewery.

What will May bring? Other than flowers?

Haven’t a clue. My job schedule prevents me from attending the Mug Club meetings on Wednesday, when these vitally important consultations and decisions are made.

I shall know soon enough. Perhaps even as early as today. When I make the 15-mile one-way drive for my freebie(s) for an hour.

Little left to say save SALUD!

And THANK GOD I just happened to have Mondays off! Otherwise I’d be screwed. Denied and deprived by the job of the fruits of my labors. I’d be one Mug Club member with the mug:

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexiemom
    May 01, 2012 @ 14:47:32

    Well, who WOULDN’T drive 15 miles one way for beer? And not just ANY beer, but GOOD beer!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      May 02, 2012 @ 09:40:11

      @lexiemom – “Well, who WOULDN’T drive 15 miles one way for beer? And not just ANY beer, but GOOD beer!” — haha. I wouldn’t. Not with current gas prices. However, the final destination – Mug Club membership – provided purpose and achievement, above and beyond good beer. And that’s why I did it. 🙂

      Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    May 03, 2012 @ 04:43:08

    Just to be sure. Did you have to drink all 24 (nay, 48) on the same day – just to entitled to that free Coors? Because after this much beer, I doubt my palate would taste anything. 🙂

    Is it sad that besides the “national” brands like Coors, Stella, or Dos X, the only one I actually tasted was the Blue Moon?

    And that’s only because it’s been repurposed and rebranded by a Canadian subsidiary…

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      May 03, 2012 @ 09:45:47

      @capra – “Just to be sure. Did you have to drink all 24 (nay, 48) on the same day – just to entitled to that free Coors?” – Oh, heavens no! I wouldn’t be here writing to but (presumably) in heaven speaking directly with God. 🙂 No, it took many long trips — 24 to be exact — to accomplish the feat. Though not a Coors fan, I must say Blue Moon is pleasantly drinkable. In Canada it’s sold by Molson, n’est pas?

      Reply

  3. katie
    May 04, 2012 @ 08:38:23

    Blue Moon is awesome. So is Stella. I ordered a pint of Blue Moon on a whim not too long ago(we were out to dinner for my sister-in-law’s birthday) and liked it.I liked it a lot.

    Reply

  4. aubrey
    May 09, 2012 @ 15:54:56

    I’m not a beer-drinking girl, but this post reminds me that a local pub is finally re-opening and that it’s time to make a visit. If I remember correctly, they make a surprisingly serviceable Bloody Mary. A few drinks, a few friends and I look forward to getting extremely sentimental.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

