beware the tucked tissue.

You know you’re getting old when you tuck tissue into the waistband of your pajamas.

It happened this morning while brewing coffee. I have a Kleenex in my hand, seemingly perpetually for these gawd-awful sinus problems exacerbated by the quite dry Colorado climate. And no where in the kitchen seemed a spot sanitary to set it down. So I tuck it into the elastic band of my PJs.

Flannel no less.

It was in that very moment that I began speaking in tongues, specifically the voice of my grandmother who’d lived to a ripe old age indeed. Grandma always had tissue tucked somewhere on her body.

I jest about the channeling. Yet there it is, Kleenex tucked into the waistband because my nightshirt lacks a pocket. Evidence of aging creeping in.

Ah, that I born the granddaughter of Bill Gates’ granddaughter and in the stead of balled tissue a $100 bill …

One can dream, can’t she?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexiemom
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 15:44:30

    Maybe its not as bad as you think. Maybe you just need PJs with pockets.

    Reply

  2. aubrey
    Apr 21, 2012 @ 20:06:51

    I’ve found some sweatshirt of mine with wads of tissue – used, unfortunately, and of unknown date – stuffed in the pockets. I don’t know if I’m getting old, but there’s a distinct possibility that I’m becoming unhygienic!

    Reply

  3. allycatadventures
    Apr 22, 2012 @ 09:32:21

    @aubrey – lol. Tissues in pockets, now *that* makes sense. Ad yet, yet somehow regardless of searching pockets through, one always but always ends up in the washer, torn to bits and shreds, clinging to clothing like leeches to flesh. Ya know?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

