oh-BAHD … oh my! … okay …

I subscribe to the belief that life is hard and then you die and Merriam-Webster’s Word of the Day, which arrives predictably and punctually in my in-box daily.

Today’s word: aubade was unfamiliar and when I read its definition, a ditty sprung forth. Oh my! Ooookay, I dare to share so here goes.

Dawn, dawn go away
I wish not to come forth and play
I wish not to toil away
before you’ve cast your light that way.

That way {pointing} up across the great sky
arching above my brow, my eye
raining light crossing here to there
those golden rays I gladly bear.

But dear dawn let’s be real now
Daybreak’s just fine if you’re a cow
a rooster or an early bird
pecking for breakfast – oh my word!
squiggling beneath the garden hose

I am however none of those
I’m owl robed in nocturnal clothes.

If I’m to toil life away
sweating in fields to make hay
let day’s fullness rest on my back
and these predawn job starts to slack!

This is my tune to greet the dawn
notes of weariness, a tad odd
a song otherwise called “aubade”
if curious: pronounced oh-BAHD.

aubade: a song or poem greeting the dawn; a morning love song

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexiemom
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 21:03:01

    your morning song
    much too long
    for a dame
    who came
    to do the same…

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Feb 17, 2012 @ 13:05:26

    @lexiemom:
    now, now, lexiemom,
    dat right dere’s da bomb
    a ditty you wrote
    by rhyme and not rote!
    yet I’m left unawed
    by absent oh-BAHD!

    😉 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

