“ploughing” my way through Dante’s first circle

Nel mezzo del camin di nostra vita
mi ritrovai per una selva oscura
che la diritta via era smarrita.

In the middle of the journey of our life,
I found myself again in a dark wood,
[so dark] that the straight way was utterly lost.

–Dante

I’ve entered the first circle of Dante’s inferno.

There are changes taking place at home that are beyond the capacity of the blog and to which only those nearest and dearest are privy.

What’s unfolding is extremely challenging and painful on a personal level. Whether the issues will be overcome is to be seen. In the meantime, home is no longer the haven of rest, peacefulness and serenity that it was prior to the arrival of a newcomer.

It was a nice three weeks while it lasted. I close the subject for now with two thoughts: I can’t seem to catch a break in home and housing and my worst nightmare is unfolding before me.

This is all.

+ + +

It’s Back!

After a brief “reprieve” following the massive snowstorm that dumped maybe 2 feet of snow in Denver in 36 hours, the white stuff’s back! — albeit in a piddly amount of several inches.

The concern isn’t the snow but rather the roads made incredibly slick and icy by a combination of road deicings and meltings on a temperature uptick (yesterday’s high about 34 degrees) and subsequent drop (today’s high = 26).

The idiocy, moronic and just plaid stupid driving exhibited on Denver roads is in no short supply and often frightening. I’ve been tailgated on slick snowy roads (frequently but not inevitably by drivers in trucks or SUVs wearing badges of invincibility) and while my first instinct is to move over and let them pass, be the reasons limited lanes or snowbanks, doing so *simply* isn’t an option on many roads. Were that I could flash a neon message on the car’s tail reading: Back off, jerk!

(addendum: You might not care about my life but I do!)

Do I fear for my safety and life? Yes. Does it morph me into an agrophobe? It does not, if for no other reason than that there are things outside the house needing doing (driving to the job being one).

I wish people were generally brighter; when it involves snow and ice, I’d settle for common sense and reason.

It’s a constant battle not to become the isolated lone-wolf hermit that I am or could become for reasons such as stupidity on the roads. It’s comforting knowing that at least one reader understands of what I speak. πŸ™‚

Striking a Pose

Here hardly seems the place; I’ll mention it anyhow if for no other reason than to conclude today’s post on an upbeat note. I’ve resumed yoga. Yes, yoga was an irregular regular practice for many years in Japan (no better surface for yoga than tatami!) and prior to a lesser degree.

Housing conditions after Japan haven’t lent themselves to yoga, until now. Pain’s a great motivator for change. While I’d been feeling the call to resume yog for quite a long while now, it’s in fact the extreme physical discomfort of the dishwashing chore (job) that literally pushed me into it.

I’m a natural. Have never taken a class (though did attend a drop-in once) and am finding that not only is cellular memory rejoicing at the restart but in emotions, mind and spirit the need for yoga is tremendous. It’s mere coincidence that it is begun just as a new housing crisis unfolds and engulfs.

I wish not to be forced into moving due to the eruption of Dante’s first infernal circle and if by broken heart it comes to that, well, I hope that the next residence, whatever it be and under what conditions and catalysts, lends itself to yoga. This room is *perfect* for it. I’d hate to let it go on account of …

By the way, my all-time favorite pose:

the plough

I could stay in it all day! And perhaps should! — to relieve, transport me through and release me from Dante’s infernal first circle!

That or a goddamn one of these:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cruisekitten
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 14:11:04

    Oh my, not again!
    Simple platitudes will not ease your unease and suffering. I continue to pour “good vibes” into the ether in hopes they come tumbling down to you.

    (hugs)

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Feb 07, 2012 @ 14:19:13

      @cruisekitten – While good vibes are better than no vibes, certainly, given their ineffectiveness, no vibes are best, methinks. Experiment with that for a while; perhaps home ‘n’ housing will much improve! πŸ˜‰

      Reply

  2. fotografzahl
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 04:43:05

    Since I am very likely one of the most inflexible persons on this planet (concerning activities like yoga and sports – and no, I’m not overweight), I use meditation and Tai Chi to find some balance.
    I’d very much give Yoga another try, but I guess I am a basket case…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

