vanities, virtues, visages and a view

I awaken to the morn’s brewing coffee and this day of rest following two workdays totaling 24 hours feeling blessed.

Struck by the bibliomancy urge and undecided on from which of three books to draw, I decide why not from each!

Passage I from the Holy Bible:

What are you doing, O devastated one?
Why dress yourself in scarlet
and put on jewels of gold?
Why shade your eyes with paint?
Your adore yourself in vain.
Your lovers despite you;
they seek your life.

I hear a cry as of a woman in labor,
a groan as of one bearing her first child–
the cry of the Daughter of Zion gasping for breath,
stretching out her hands and saying,
“Alas! I am fainting;
my life is given over to murderers.”

–Jeremiah 4:30-31 (Disaster from the North)

Something to think about.

Passage II

“If thou return to the Almighty, thou shalt be built up (in consciousness), thou shalt put away iniquity far from thy tabernacles.”

“Then shalt thou lay up gold as dust, the gold of Ophir as the stones of the brooks.”

“Yeah, the Almighty shall be thy defense and thou shalt have plenty of silver.”

What a picture of opulence! The result of “Returning to the Almighty (in consciousness).”

With the average person (who has thought in terms of lack for a long time) it is very difficult to build up a rich consciousness.

— “From the Way of Abundance” by Florence Scovel Shinn, pg. 244

Passage III

“She looked like she was reigning over some little kingdom, with her long nose and all of her own teeth. She sat up straight in her bed and she always had on a clean night jacket decorated with flowers and lace. And she spoke so confidently, saying things like, ‘No, my deeah, that isn’t right.'”

— “The Book of Ruth” by Jane Hamilton, pg. 62

+ + +

My room is quite bright and warmed by the Colorado sun shining nakedly boldly like a laser, uninhibited, undisturbed and unencumbered by a thick gray blanket of cold wet.

With the room is an object I’ve not had in a good while: a desk/table from which to write. My heart twitters pitter-patter; while I can write anywhere – “I could be sitting in a field with bombs going off and still write” have I oft spoken – a dedicated writing space is one where heart and self find home.

+ + +

So yesterday I go to work at 10 a.m., sky bright and sunny, a spanking of nip in the air, and when I leave about 9 p.m. I find my car beneath 1-1/2 inches of snow! Started falling around 4 p.m. I’m told. Colorado’s weather is nuthin’ if not variable!

A view of winter’s visage from my second-floor window late this morning:

Yes, I’m blessed … and will continue contemplating the day’s three passages, particularly the Bible’s life given over to murderers!

Heck, could even inspire me to pick up my own writing again!

Leave a Reply

