black friday

Not the one that makes headline news.

Not looking forward to tomorrow.

Because a coworker needed a day off, I’m covering for him — basically workin’ a double from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.

If it were all prep cooking, I wouldn’t complain. Because it’s creative, educational and involves use of my brain, I can do it for loooong hours and be energized.

Unfortunately, half of tomorrow’s 14-hour day is dishwashing, my maker of misery. I’m certain to end the day uber-crabby, if not from dishwashing fatigue then hating it so.

What a waste of a good brain.

Grateful to be employed yet missing purposeful work immensely.

That’s all as I try to kid myself into sleepiness by 10 a.m. For the morrow’s predawn rise and shift. Minus the ‘f.’ πŸ™‚

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flamingo Dancer
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 01:44:54

    Oh dear, I could suggest living in the moment as you wash, but I don’t think that is really going to work. Can you listen to music? Sing? Recite poetry? Watch the clock? Think of the extra money…sorry.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jan 07, 2012 @ 09:25:51

      @FD – “I could suggest living in the moment as you wash, but I don’t think that is really going to work. ” – Are you friggin’ kidding?! Were I do to that, I’d leave on the spot! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ Denial’s the best tool of survival in a soul-destroying job! It’s written in the employee, page 9, paragraph 3. πŸ™‚ Um, music, no. Poetry? If you no enough poetry to occupy your mind for five hours, my hat’s off to you! Watch the clock? Doesn’t that only deepen the despair? (does me).Extra money? Surely you jest. Or perhaps dishwashers earn more there than they do here!

      Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 04:51:58

    “For the morrow’s predawn rise and shift. Minus the β€˜f.”

    What the “F” ? πŸ™‚

    Here’s hoping this brings you overtime pay. Money’s not good for everything but it has its uses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

