Herbal oil sets off a fire in pub chief

What to do with cause for complaint about service, product or employee performance is obvious: Speak to the manager.

But what if the *top dog* is the problem?

Though not a hangout, Brandon’s Pub is a cozy warm little spot that I frequent. The intimate size makes it particularly suited to nights like yester’s: crispy, snowy, icy, chilly 6 degrees (14 C).

Monday night football … $2 drafts … $1 sliders … pret-ty nice!

The manager — actually I think he’s the owner — anyhow, the chief is a reasonably affable fellow who commonly hangs out front with the customers.

As in any pub, I sit at the bar or I sit nowhere! So last night there I was.

modeling (not by me!) paronychia

Enter paronychia, the finger swollen and red from a bacteria entered via dishwater at work. In this extended heck of a battle to rid the digit and body of the this nasty paronychia, I’ve been applying a drop of oil of oregano around the nailbed frequently through the day. (That with days off work, away from aggravating liquid solutions, alone seem to be having any effect.)

Oil of oregano, a derivative of the herb, is powerful stuff with widespread applications, including destroying bacteria. It’s a fascinating oil, really, and if you’re into alternative and herbal treatments/medicines, I highly recommend googling it.

The spicy and sweet oil is fiery in efficacy, taste and scent! A couple drops in the mouth will ignite a few tongues of flames so it’s (wisely) recommended that it be ingested with carrier oil (olive’s common) or to keep a glass of water at fast ready reach!

The scent is strong. Not unpleasant. And noticeable at a short distance, evidently.

Back to Brandon’s Pub, where during my visit I applied a single drop to the infection.

After some moments the bartender, roughly 9 feet away, commented: “Strange. I smell oregano!”

“It’s this oil of oregano,” I volunteered.

Guess there was a little buzz about it amongst a half handful of folks in neighboring barseats, a handful that included the chief.

Next thing I knew, he was up outta the seat and at my side asserting, in a somewhat hostile off-putting demeanor intuited/observed in visits prior, that the scent was bothering the customers. Then with raised voice and (paronychia-free) finger pointed to the door he commanded “get out!”

Not “could you change seats for a few moments” (until the scent wanes, a viable option in the near-empty pub).

Not “could you keep the hand in a pocket or beneath the bar or covered.”

Not a quiet request or private moment of bringing it to my attention.

Rather a barking “get out!” — 86’ing me as if I were a drunken brawling obnoxious lout hitting on all the girls!

So I gathered my things (fortunately had about finished the pint) and exited, taken aback and angered by the chief’s bad behavior. It left a bad taste in the mouth and it wasn’t oil of oregano!

I continue contemplating whether to bring my business again. For my avid Consumer Advocate and Responsible Buyer cells, it’s a no-brainer. No.

Another part of me enjoys the space and would miss it.

So I’ll be contacting the pub for names of manager and owner and pen a recount. They need to be informed of chief’s bad behavior. 86 that, I say, not well-behaved customers (or customers bearing herbal remedies)! There are numerous other responses more professional, courteous and appropriate to the situation than overreactive barking orders.

I write then I let the chips fall where they may.

Instinct tells me it won’t be ice chips in a complimentary whiskey sour to set things right at Brandon’s Pub …

albeit stranger things have happened …{this bed for instance:}

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katie
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 13:20:34

    Being someone who cooks with some frequency, I know all too well that a little oregano goes a long way-LOVE the stuff, though!

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 17:37:32

    ‘Baby, go striagt to you tube, search “Change For A Dollar” by wright66064.
    Raymond

    Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 17:43:15

    Waterbaby, go to you tube…search “Change For A Dollar” by wright66064.
    Can’t make a share link for sh__.
    Love ya gotta go raymond

    Reply

  4. longeyesamurai
    Dec 07, 2011 @ 03:17:27

    Really, the smell of oregano is that bothersome to some people. Unless he thinks that oregano is “oregano, the acaupulco gold” 🙂 , I find it weird that he should make one react that way.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 09, 2011 @ 10:40:24

      @capra – The scent of oil of oregano is a powerful first blast from the bottle, then subsides. As it is, he’s a temperamental fellow – emphasis on “temper” – so he didn’t behave out of character, only really rudely and over the top given the situation, methinks …

      Reply

  5. Flamingo Dancer
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 02:30:08

    I cannot believe his ignorance. Do you think he really thought you were ingesting a herb of another kind? I wouldn’t go back, but I would pen the complaint.

    Reply

  6. allycatadventures
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 10:42:02

    @FD – I’m confused; where in the post was there any mention of him thinking I was ingesting another herb? Oil of oregano scent is potent first out of the bottle and he handled the situation poorly and unprofessionally. End of post. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

