on changing quarters, a cat and a kibosh on Craigs

I’d LIKE to say that it’s hard imagining where I’ll be sitting and sleeping 10 days from now!

Truth is, with a change in residence averaging every four weeks, better to write that I’ve no idea where I’ll be and leave it at that.

My roommate’s the brother of the house owner, Daniel, who doesn’t reside on the premises.

Roomie and I have wildly weird different hours so we see little of each other. Yesterday brought a rare opportunity of together time and we chatted at length about his brother (as well as my impending move, about which he’d not been told).

Family of dysfunction for sure.

Be that as it is, our talk shed light on Daniel. Selfish, inconsiderate and thoughtful whims and actions taken with no respect or regard for another are a lifelong pattern.

While knowing this doesn’t alleviate the ache in the heart and the anger at being uprooted so swiftly from a place that I love, I acknowledge that Daniel broke his word and in time he’ll reap as he sows. The talk with his brother put things into some context and perspective. Very helpful.

Still, I wish I wasn’t moving …

I’ll dearly miss this little wild fella:

He’s been a major pain in the butt, true. He’s also been a lively and entertaining companion who’s wonderful to come home to in an otherwise empty house, who sleeps snuggled up against my head and cuddles. He’s an affectionate fellow. I will miss him.

What Daniel did was rotten, forcing someone out with nine days notice AND during the Thanksgiving holiday when many will be away and/or not responding to emails.

Really, how thoughtless, I think.

Be that as it is, I cannot catch a break from craig! That would be craig of craigslist. I’ve lived and breathed craig solidly for years … first through the three years of job-searching in Tacoma and then these four+ months in Denver in a continuous search for work, housing or usually both.

I’ll tell you this: If ever I have an animal companion, no way in the friggin’ world will he be named Craig!

And if YOUR name’s Craig, don’t mention it at the risk of being banished from my blog.

In fact, I’m putting the kibosh on all Craigs here and now! There, done.

So off I go now to do boring laundry. See ya all later.

All of you but Craigs.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fotografzahl
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 04:20:01

    @fotografzahl – “At least you haven’t lost your sense of humor. ;-)” – oh but I have! If you find it, could you kindly return it, I miss it! 🙂

    Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 19:37:48

    Holy… Talk about being put through the wringer.You are made of sterner stuff to be able to put a brave face after something like this…

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 24, 2011 @ 11:20:46

      @capra – Really, it’s not bravery but a battle to survive. A friggin’ bloody battle … and if the number of gashes, bullet holes, scars and slices is any measure, the bad guys are winning. 🙂

      Reply

  3. lexiemom
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 20:51:39

    I knew that cat was growing on you…
    And I’m going to laugh out loud if your next roomate’s name turns out to be Craig… with the way things have been going for you lately, that’ll probably be the case!

    Sincerely, Lexiecraig

    Reply

Leave a Reply

