catching up

Remember me? The wisecracking, irreverent, defiant, sometimes smart-ass, more often sweet, smart, serious and surreptitiously sublime waterbaby/allycat?

I’m back.

Almost.

‘Tis been a season of sea changes, settlings, unsettlings and meanies.

After the chaos and upheavels, the dust is settling.

Almost. Snapshots seem appropriate.

Down in the Ghetto

“Down in the Ghetto…” that crooning bluesy refrain put on the map by Elvis.

Mine goes: “Out of the Ghetto …”

I did leave the ghetto, and the home it held, and with the assistance of a helper-mover solicited on craigslist who actually showed up (!!) and regained possession of my belongings, intact, held hostage in the house of the Rampager.

After wearing the same clothes, shoes, seasonally-insufficient lightweight jacket and so on for five days, I was never happier to have my pajamas again, a different pair of shoes and prescribed work clothes!

I thought: What if I were diabetic and dependent on insulin or some other prescriptions with no means of access? This lockout could’ve gone horribly wrong. What then?

The Rampager was as civil as could be, grunting an explanation about being 30 minutes late for our evening appointed rendevoux at her house. She remained out of sight as I boxed up my things in the basement — no small task but manageable as I hadn’t unpacked all that much, and re-emerged only as I took final leave. She sharply queried whether I’d left everything she’d lent me (i.e., towel, sheets). I assured affirmatively with a pleasant, civil and friendly disposition, which was not returned in kind.

Oh well. Graciousness and civil obedience aren’t everyone’s cup of tea.

So I’m o-u-t out. Gone. Finito. No damage suffered by my property, only me. I shall recover; however I shan’t ever forget that feeling of coming home and finding my keys no longer jiving with the locks. On the evening of Colorado’s second biggest snowstorm and the eve of a new job.

Karma’s a bitch, as a reader noted. I leave the matter to Miss (Bitch) Karm and S. the Rampager Roommate.

And henceforthwill reside only with males if I have any say in the matter.

Got a Job But Got No Net

I’m still employed! That’s another post. Suffice it to say that I awaken every day, sometimes at the inhuman hour of 6 o’clock in the wee hours, with gratitude in my heart and on my lips that I Am Employed!

I ain’t got no Net though. In fact, between the cessasation of Internet service at the former digs and absence at present abode, I’ve been Net-less at home for a few weeks.

I can sum it up thusly:

It Sucks!

Between starting a new job, my crazy, work hours, the home floor dropping out from under my feet, a consuming search for shelter and safety, getting a little settled in my new digs (TONS OF CLEANING!) and lack of Internet therein, I’ve been forced into an abnormal AWOL.

In fact I was eagerly anticipating the arrival of Internet at home today. The Comcast guy arrived at the appointed time. Unfortunately, my roommate, tasked with the matter since I was at work (god I love those words!!!!!!) slept through the doorbell, the loud knocking and the ring of his phone.

I’m no longer relying on him and wish also to avoid a second wasted trip by Comcast guy. So my schedule is arranged for tomorrow, which will hopefully put this extended spell of No Home Internet to rest.

From the ashes rises the phoenix. And I.

‘Til next time hopefully sooner than later …

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katie
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 22:28:10

    Glad to hear you got your stuff back from the roomie from Hell and will have internet soon.

    Reply

  2. fotografzahl
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 02:23:40

    Good to read this! 🙂
    Did your ex-roomie provide any explanation/comment to her behaviour?

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 14:12:55

      @fotografzahl – I’ve got educated explanation for her behavior. However, frankly they mean little when I’m faced with homelessness and questions of shelter in a cold snowy city as a result. I wish no harm on her, only safety and freedom for myself away from her. Good riddance to that situation and woman, I say.

      Reply

  3. trayflow
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 03:08:03

    Really glad to hear some positives…employment, new place to stay, your possessions retrieved. Keep them rolling in! Enjoy reading your posts as I often find myself wondering what has been happening and how you are coping.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 14:09:18

      @trayflow – Awww, so nice to hear that! Oft-times have folks said there’s never a dull moment in my life! This last round of rooomates pushed the envelope too far, even for me. I’m cautiously optimistic in saying that things can now only get better. 🙂 Your thoughts in the blogging off time and readership are appreciated. 🙂

      Reply

  4. Flamingo Dancer
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 04:45:44

    So glad to hear things have improved. You should be so proud of yourself for having handled it all so well!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 14:03:02

      @FD – Thank you, FD! “Proud” isn’t an active or applicable word in my vocabulary; rather I’m profoundly grateful — and more than a little relieved — for that which I have survived. That I’ve done so without creating damage to others is humbling and assures that I’m on the right path.

      Reply

  5. cruisekitten
    Nov 10, 2011 @ 10:27:32

    Oh yay! Glad to hear you still have employement and a room! Soon to be with web access!

    I am also relieved to hear you were able to retrieve your belongings.

    Hopefully this is the upswing you have been so longly denied.

    (hugs)

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 11, 2011 @ 13:49:36

      @cruisekitten – Aww, thank you! For what it’s worth, I’m extremely relieved for the preservation of that which traveled some 1,500 with me. I may have little — a “mere” a carload after all — but what I have means so very much to me. Visions of my stuff tossed out onto the ghetto sidewalks or inside pawn shops for another’s personal gain sickened and made for a sleepless night. People like my former roommate make the idea of a secluded life awfully tempting! 🙂

      Reply

  6. aubrey
    Nov 12, 2011 @ 17:33:48

    I’ve been away from all blogs, including my own. My job has a new location which, in my opinion, is utterly soul-destroying. Preparing for the move did nothing but depress/anger me. I am hoping that engulfing myself once more in the lives of my blog friends and my own writings will provide me with something of a cure. And what happens? I visit here, and find the best of all things – a new job, a new home, and a new optimism for BB formerly WB.

    Reply

  7. Anonymous
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 15:11:06

    Good riddance to the Rampager! I hope Male Roommate is better!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 19, 2011 @ 10:24:31

      @Anonymous – Over the course of Roommates, males, with one exception, have made better, safer and saner cohabitants than females. And that one exception, well, he was a very prissy gay man! Need more be said? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

