my plate overfloweth with crap

The kindness bitterness of some people amazes.

When I departed the House of Wincing, I left with the roommates a large envelope for any mail certain to arrive after my exit. It was agreed that I’d stop by to retrieve the collected mail after a week or two.

I did so yesterday, 10 days after the move, sufficient time for VIM (very important mail) to arrive, including a VERY NEEDED final paycheck from my brief former (bakery) employer.

The Smoker came to the door. I was friendly, civil and courteous.

“I’ve come by to pick up the mail.”

“You haven’t gotten any mail,” she said with a dead-on straight expression.

“None?” I said. I was alarmed. I’d been told by my former employer that the paycheck had been sent two weeks prior; in addition, it’s the time of month certain important bills arrive.

“None,” she assured. “And I’ve been getting the mail.”

I knew that from having lived there.

I thanked her and left and thus was launched a series of actions and phone calls to my former employer, who invoked a series of processes and involvement by various parties to cancel the missing check and send out a new one.

A complicated process as you might imagine given that it’s corporate.

I also revisited my local post office with steam pouring out my ears. This is was the second time in as many months that mail — really important mail like money or bills — wasn’t arriving.

The first visit settled the matter; now it had resurfaced.

The supervisor promised to look into it, to speak with the carrier (who is friendly with my former Smoker roommate) and so on. I was instructed to call their private number the next day.

I just did so.

The reason I am not getting my mail: The Smoker roommate is refusing delivery. She outright told the carrier: “We won’t accept it.”

And back it goes to sender … check, bills, everything.

Marcy blatantly, expertly and point-blank lied to my face when she said no mail had come for me.

In the final closing, even when I’m free and gone and clear, I am stabbed in the back by hateful ill will.

The kindness bitterness of some people amazes.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Invictus
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 15:09:41

    What an overwhelmingly ugly bipedal being. Reminds me of my paternal grandmother.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 17:30:00

      @Brandon – That mention rings familiar. Vile dispositions fall outside my comprehension; her ability to lie with stone-faced precision and believability frightens. What good comes of crossing paths with her is yet to be determined.

      Reply

  2. fotografzahl
    Oct 26, 2011 @ 18:51:57

    What an antisocial, malicious behaviour – incredible!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Oct 26, 2011 @ 19:53:19

      @fotografzahl – Agreed. I also now understand why I began having intense and frequent nightmares a week after I moved in — my unconscious recognizing and alerting me to dangers of a sick woman and environment. I’ve come to believe that they should cease renting out the room; no one other than her daughter is safe.

      Reply

  3. Anonymous
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 14:28:23

    Alas – I’m not amazed at the unending ilk that lies in the heart of some individuals. Just think how black indeed their lives must be!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

