Cheap sleep and things that go {suuuuuuuck} in the night

Nuthin’ deconstructs a reconstructed bad back faster than a bad bed.

To try it out, I switched the feather pad belonging to my roommate for the mattress from the storage room last night.

I won’t make that mistake again.

If ever you’ve slept on a cheap mattress, you know of what I speak. The springs are loose and bouncy. They offer no support. And if you’re amongst the millions of unfortunates with backs in disrepair, you’ll recognize those morning sensations of having been run over by a bus.

A bad mattress isn’t worth it. Isn’t worth the loss and poor quality of sleep. Isn’t worth the undoing of months, possibly years, possibly a lifetime of back treatments. Isn’t worth that financial investment tossed down the drain.

Isn’t worth it in any way, shape or form.

As if my plate overfloweth not enough with truly heavyweight problems, to it is added finding a free quality mattress that is uber-firm, clean and – brace yourself for a creepy-crawly — free of bedbugs.

Yes, Denver has the dubious honor of being the sixth most bedbugs-infested city in the nation. This I learned recently; it’s one of those things I wish I hadn’t. The numbers of those nasty critters have exploded as they hitchhike their way in on luggage of travelers and so on; Denver is no measly {ahem} destination for travelers and transplants from near and far.

I’m not even gonna broach the hideous bedbugs tales that abound. I leave that for Halloween, if I can stomach it.

Consequently, procuring beds off craigslist and such has taken on a meaning and level of concern that cause the flesh to itch and squirm.You don’t know who’s been on that bed and I’m not referring to the human species.

Yessssssh.

So my dilemma is two-pronged: finding that quality free mattress that’s clean as a whistle.

And pronto. One night was enough to boot me outta that bed for good. Life has learned me well on two counts: (1) a crap mattress ain’t worth the cheap fabric (2) listen to the back.

The penalties of not doing so are severe and threatening to one’s very upright existence.

No other structure in the body is more integral to one’s fundamental security and stability than that string of bones and fluids lacing the length behind you.

Again, those with tender troubled backs know of what I speak; you also know that a bad back never fully heals. Caring for it is commonly a commitment until death do you part.

Now, wait for it …

you know it’s comin’ …

it’s gotta happen …

you know it’s gonna …

here …

sweet dreams …

bad bed mates

Eggs for breakfast. Barf.

Pretty certain that if I can spot a single hair in a tub, I could these on a used mattress.

black excrement from bedbugs

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trailblazer1
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 15:16:49

    Bedbug central – I hope you collected these photos online and not in your room. Creepy stuff. I know you can buy beds which are floor samples at a reduced rate, maybe you could work out something. Even an Aero Bed would be better than what you have.

    Life is hard – no bed of roses, just the thorns sometimes. Wishing you better days and nights.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Oct 19, 2011 @ 12:44:48

      @trailblazer – No worries, those pics are online. I haven’t the means to buy a new bed, discounted or otherwise, and thus must rely on the furnishings of others. Prefer otherwise but life’s fucking hard. Nonetheless, I’m enormously grateful for the roof over my head, a hot shower and food. So so many don’t have even that.

      Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 05:15:19

    Ugh Got a colleague who’s freaking out about those little critters. I dare say she would be sleeping on the ceiling if she ever came across those pictures, yet alone an actual bedbug…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

