Hounding for Courtesy

Hounding for Courtesy.

That’s what I title my nonexistent mini ebook about the realities of job-hunters.

It feels terrible, terrible I tell you, to have to harrass someone for a response … to have to write the same, or tweaked, email or make that same call and leave that same message over and over.

Turns me into the Hound and the Harasser — neither of which would be necessary if the people would respond!

The list is not short and crosses industries; from menial low-paying labor to professional positions.

The follow-up, at their end, is fall-through.

Recent examples, back to back (I assure this barely scratches the surface of Life in the Longterm Unemployed Lane, circa 2008 to ???):

There was one career opening up my alley.I dispatched a cover letter, on which I’d spent half a day polishing to perfection, that’s neither here nor there, resume and samples.

Nothing.

I followed up with short emails through the weeks. Once. Twice. Thrice. Finally after the fourth, they responded along the lines of: “Your experience is impressive. However, it doesn’t quite meet our needs. We have other candidates we’re looking at. Good luck in your search.”

Same thing with another recent opening – one for which I’m highly qualified. Never mind that I applied repeatedly in my first 1-1/2 months in Denver.

Got nada. Zip. Until an email outta the blue. I was overjoyed. Went up for stage I of their process.

Penned the thank you note and subsequent short follow-ups (keeping my interest and name alive) and queries. Silence. silence.

Another job: They called me based on my resume, left a voice mail saying they wanted to set up an interview.

Granted, it’s my crap lame jobs blue-collar resume which in the deepest core of my soul and spirit I wish to burn and never repeat.

Still, for what it’s worth, it’s a job. Morever, it’s courteous to respond (even if you’re not interested in the job or have found something else).

So I called Posh Maids back. Left a voice message. Didn’t hear back.

Called again the next morning. Another voice message.

N.O.T.H.I.N.G.

With nothing to lose except possibly my patience, I penned an email to Posh Maids and articulated in polite, professional and direct language my experience with them and thoughts.

Do I expect to hear from them? Of course not. That’s not why I wrote them. I wrote them because their lack of response is unprofessional and reflects poorly on them as a business.

And I am fucking sick and tired of it! Way beyond capacity with the discourtesy, unprofessionalism, rudeness, thoughtlessness, poor manner, call it what you will, they all apply and in the end truly make one want to give up! Give up looking for work. Give up hoping someone out there will hear you. Give up on a response. Give up giving forth heart and effort and sincerity. Give up hope in the goodness and courtesy of people.

And on that red-letter day when the jackpot’s stuck, dialogue with an actual human being ensues, interviews are scheduled, handshakes exchanged and employment offers made …

… I dunno; hasn’t happened yet.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Invictus
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 09:37:38

    Yeah, I’m running into the same kind of thing with a magazine that has accepted my work, but not posted it or sent me a contract (or payment). It’ll happen, but until then, I’m practicing my patience. I’ve come to expect it from employers, sadly, but I’ve also found that some places don’t get back to you until you apply a couple of times for the same position. I agree that it’s rude to not respond, even in a pro forma way, but then again, considering how I’ve left many a job over the years, I don’t feel like I’m in a position to push too hard against rudeness. 🙂

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 10:07:43

      @Brandon – lol. Honestly, one the one hand, I dunno that I’d call those modes of departure rude, though HR or others might perceive it thusly. On the other hand, I dunno your entire departures history so … 🙂

      To my evidently old-school thought, once you’ve crossed that line from Anonymous Nobody to Somebody with a Name, Face or Voice, be it by repeated reaching outs, ongoing exchange of messages/calls, one-on-one dialogue, in-person visits or so on, the standards of professionalism, courtesy or manner heighten. So yeah, that magazine is failing to meet code, if code be defined plain ol’ professionalism.

      Gotta say, a degree of sympathy goes to employers when I follow up or pursue; 3/4 attachments x 3/4 times – Attachments-o-rama.

      What other choice do they leave us?! You hear nuthin’. You get nuthin’. You’re interested (or not). You wanna work. You need to work. It’s Harassment through no fault of applicants!

      Sheesh I miss the old days when there were jobs. And manners. 🙂

      As an aside, I’ve never walked out on a job — though I’ve certainly wanted to, dreamed of it and been tempted to! BTW, speaking of walkouts, it was this time – almost to the day – seven years ago that our former digs and I parted company — with a week’s sympathy money, arranged by Keith. Lotta miles, addresses and jobs ‘tween then and now … 😉

      Reply

  2. fotografzahl
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 03:17:06

    I live in a region with a very high unemployment rate, i.e. I know what you are going through.
    The sister of a friend of mine had been unemployed for years (despite a good University degree), but then just when she began to really give up all hope, all of a sudden she achieved a good job in company near her home.

    Another friend of mine wanted to have a job in a store. They rejected her, because she had not much experience in their field.
    Then she went there personally. Again, rejected.
    However, she went there for the third time to convince them and the boss finally said: “You know what? I like your perseverance. It shows me that you really want this. You can begin to work here next week!”
    And she has been working there now for over a year.

    I am telling you this to bolster you up – don’t give up, don’t lose your courage.
    One day you can be lucky as well!

    Reply

  3. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 06:14:01

    Feel the pain, but the reality, as much as it bites, is what it is.

    Reply

  4. allycatadventures
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 08:37:30

    @fotografzahl – If persistence paid off, I’d have been employed years ago! (as it is, it’s past three years.) I’m glad for those two you know you got jobs. Quite the cause for dancing and celebrating in the streets!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

