passing thoughts.

Passing thoughts are all it is today.

Does roommate (M.) have a mean streak? I wonder. She’s not the easiest person to live with, this is certain. A blip of a transaction (re: liquor bottles storage) leads me to wonder whether that was a mean streak I glimpsed. Or cruelty. Or just (“just”) another symptom of a total control freak.

Be it one or the other or something else, not in recent history have the words “pick your battles” carried more weight than presently. I can think of a particular handful of women through my lifetime truly not to piss off unless very well armored and/or prepared to deal with raging injustices and bitter biting consequences; she might be among them (however, I don’t plan to rattle that cage, test the waters or stick around long enough to find out).

Grace under fire. I am the embodiment, daily.

+ + +

I’ve soaked up more summer – in duration and temperature – in the past two months in Colorado than in the five years in the Pacific Northwest.

This summer’s been a record-breaker (in consistently high temperatures). Bring it on and keep it comin’ I say!

My roommates aren’t quite as fond of the heat. I like my room hot; they like the house on the colder side. I can sit outdoors all afternoon; they retreat sooner. I remind them that I’m making up for lost years without sunshine or warmth.

And I truly can sit outside all day, alternating between sun and shade, drying the bones and tissue, replenishing Vitamin D, detoxifying, balancing and rebalancing skewed and screwed up body and mind chemistry. I can do it again the next day. And the next. And the next … for another six months, though summer’ll be well past by then.

Deprivation and lack. Painful stuff. I’m blessed to have arrived in Colorado when I did. It was no accident.

+ + +

Big event Thursday this week. It’ll take me outta town too. I dig that and wonder how it’ll go.

+ + +

In a few short months, my life will look very different than it does now … which looks very changed indeed from just two months ago. Today marks the two-month-plus-a-day anniversary of my liberation / departure from Washington.

Many miles crossed. Many miles still to travel

Courage. The mettle that makes radical transformation possible.

# #

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Invictus
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 00:18:23

    Good luck on the Thursday thing, and have fun visiting. I’ve never been to that particular town, though it’s on my list of places to stop in if I ever get back that way.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 06, 2011 @ 09:22:10

      @Brandon – Thanks, bro. Reckon I’ll combine business with pleasure, arriving some hours early for a relaxing look-around and then waiting out the commute crunch at the other end. Only question remaining: Do they allow use of relevant reference books during or must one draw from AP memory? Will see!

      Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Sep 06, 2011 @ 05:25:46

    Seconded on the good wishes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

