life after Vox

Honestly, I prob’ly wouldn’t have thought of it … remembered … or blogged on it otherwise.

FlamingoDancer mentioned this one-year anniversary of Vox’s closure, which set my own mental wheels in motion.

I was part of the WP migration as well as a tiny — perhaps teeny tiny! — minority who shed no tears when Vox, long in its death throes, finally made it official.

When I think back, I remember the widespread expressions of (a) surprise, (b) loss, grief and/or sadness and (c) the banding together, the collective clinging and clutching to one another as if on life rafts watching the mother ship sink.

I responded differently by swimming off on my own, first to explore and study and learn to navigate WP — a much more complicated ship than Vox for sure — and then seeking out fresh adventures and bloggers with no Vox affiliation.

Was that wrong? {chuckle}

Of course not.

I stayed true to my nature.

I remember well one blog rising quick on the heels of Vox’s end that was like ESPN channel. Instead of all sports all the time, it was all Voxers all the time.

I thought the blog useful as a locator/directory of Voxers with new identities (though I think I utilized it only once).

However, I participated not in the “groupism” at that blog (or in general). I remember posts by some who were so distraught and discombobulated and clutching of one another that you’d have thought their house burned down.

Vox, in its early incarnation, was a community. By the end, through various forces, it had de-evolved-degenerated into a collection of cliques.

Where there are cliques, I go in another direction.

Vox had died long before it hung the”Gone Out of Business” sign on the door. I’d already grieved and mourned. So there was no shock, only relief and celebration and a enormous exhalation of “about time!

My only regret, were there one, was not hopping over to WP sooner.

Anyhow, FD’s post inspired this retrospective. Vox is water well under the bridge. I can’t help, however, viewing the parallels in the broader perspective in my own life.

A year ago, I had a dead horse on my hands named Vox; a year ago, I had a dead horse on my hands named Tacoma/Washington.

Both best left in their respective gravesites.

Such is my one-year commemoration.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. RevStan
    Aug 04, 2011 @ 14:21:43

    I was a little sad to see Vox go as it’s where I cut my blogging teeth but like you have moved on easily (and was already doing so before its demise).
    Thanks for the reminder though, I wouldn’t have even realised, and it’s brought back fond memories.

    Reply

  2. katie
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 17:40:23

    I was one of the beta testers for Vox..in the beginning it was great-I liked it,it felt like home, I made a lot of friends, joined a few groups..but then things started to change. It turned into what I can only call “Bizarro!Vox”. Concerns about various issues were not addressed, and it became a lot less fun for me to be there.

    Still, I have a lot of great memories and that’s what I choose to remember Vox by.

    Reply

  3. Flamingo Dancer
    Aug 06, 2011 @ 03:29:32

    The communal sorrow was indeed intense after Vox died a slow death. I have enjoyed the experience at WordPress.

    Reply

  4. allycatadventures
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 11:00:52

    @FD – The reasons for the sorrow escape me, Vox had turned moribund long before. I’m more saddened by the (predictable) numbers who have stopped blogging since the migration than Vox’s death.

    Reply

  5. longeyesamurai
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 12:40:53

    Vox was doomed the moment that its owners set their sights on making money over everything else. Now SixApart is just a shell, an office in Japan

    I think that blogs as a community are being replaced by things like Facebook of Google Buzz, where instant gratification is the rule…

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Aug 07, 2011 @ 13:57:16

      @Capra – “Now SixApart is just a shell, an office in Japan.” Could be. It was abundantly evident when they stopped having a care about Vox and poured attention and resources into other areas. Overall I think you’re right about community blogging receding in exchange for Facebook and other social media. Hw dum r we bcomng anyhow?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

