still no title, what the hell.

Sometimes the savage frustrated beast can be soothed by spirits.

When I write that I’ve ventured into various liquor stores – could be nine, could be more – across Denver in search of my favorite Old Overholt rye whiskey, I exaggerate not.

Originally I sought my man to celebrate arrival in Denver, an accomplishment of epic proportion.

my man

What a fool! … meaning strictly that I had no way of knowing of the monster right around the corner … the monster made of discourtesy/thoughtlessness/unresponsiveness – take your pick – prevalent amongst Denver craigslisters.

Don’t get me wrong. There are plenty of reasons to celebrate my arrival (and escape from the Pacific Northwest). I’ve not blogged on them because my focus is on housing. Has been. Has to be.

Example of a thing to celebrate: Each day I wake up, draw aside the rust curtains and see blue sky and sun. First thing in the day!!!!

And they’re not a passing 5-minute fad either! The shift in body/health is palpable and immediate (within three days of arriving) as the body soaks up the sun and changed air, both in quality and dryness.

The psyche, well, it still needs time to sync up to the new reality and process the culture shock of the radically changed climate. For the better, I will add.

I do miss my old man Overholt. Only rye whiskey I’ve spotted in Denver was one mediocre at best and not worth wasting money.

What ever is?

However, it’s because Old Overholt is nowhere to be found that I got Skinnygirl. Correction: had.

A bottled margarita that’s actually pretty damn tasty for a premix!

It’s a product of Canada so that’s why. Add oodles of ice and kick back on a hot summer day and all problems and ailments melt away.

For a spell.

So a shoutout to Skinnygirl. Ain’t Old (man) Overholt but it’ll do long as the sun shines high ‘n’ hot and troubles trail like a mangy mongrel after a bitch in heat.

my missy, when the man's not around

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 14:47:28

    You know, the last time I was in a VA ABC store (which isn’t all that often) I don’t recall seeing that brand on the shelves.

    Reply

  2. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Jul 27, 2011 @ 14:59:53

    No, since VA has state-run liquoir stores (Alcohol Control Board) they also control which brands can and cannot be sold. thus I’ve not seen Old Overholt

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jul 28, 2011 @ 02:03:19

      @Expat – WA state too runs the liquor industry/stores, which meant that Old Overholt was widely available and predictably priced regardless of location. I’d have thought that with the looser CO laws and private-sector liquor stores, Old Overholt (or other quality ryes) would be easily found. Not so. Fact is, rye is no longer the popular spirit of its era past.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

