a baker’s dozen by the brick

Pick a place, any place.

Then oohhh and aaaah.

I did as I soaked in the architecture around one of Denver’s oldest and largest parks, Washington Park.

What’s presented doesn’t begin to scratch the surface of the gigantic park, called Wash Park by the locals (and worthy of its own posting), or the early 20th-century brick homes that stretch on for miles.

When I randomly picked the park for exploration and exercise one hot sunny afternoon, I had no clue of the historical and architectural richness, beauty, variety and character that awaited!

Was my camera whirrin’ that day!

Below’s but a baker’s dozen from the neighborhood that charms the pants off so many locals and visitors, myself included! Climate and geography are certainly reflected in the homes. Look at those roofs! You can just picture the thick shrouds of snow!

What I’d give to rent a room in these parts! It’s not nearly as expensive as you’d think. And just so happens that what’s quickly become my favorite cafe’s nearby. Perhaps someday I too will become a Wash Park resident.

Before I turn the post over to pics, in related news, this afternoon I’m viewing a room (in a wholly separate part of town). Perhaps it’ll be an 11th-hour reprieve from the closet (of prior posts). Sounds like a spacious room in a spacious house.; report to follow.

Report: The woman stood me up!!!

Now, feast your eyes on this baker’s dozen … (homes that, for the record, sell for a fraction of what they’d go for in California or, for that fact, Seattle) … now onward …

and just because …

and what fun for these residents! …

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. countrybydesign
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 19:57:39

    I love old, historic neighborhoods. The front half of my house was built in 1908, and has a lot of character, but it is a pain in the neck to paint!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

