SiZe MaTtErs.

Three weeks.

Three unexpected, unplanned, long and expensive weeks in a motel that I’ll be paying off for a long while.

While not a done deal, the tug of this fish signals that housing has been landed. It’ll likely be toward the end of this week that I move in, a day shy of three weeks after I arrived.

It ain’t ideal; it ain’t horrible either.

Pros

Location. The apartment’s in a desired suburb of Denver, away from the city intensity and yet near enough to partake of its offerings without too much trouble or travel.

The suburb is its own little community with its own charms, history and conveniences of market and more within walking distance. I’m a walker. I like small communities. I should live in Europe. Or Asia. 🙂

Functioning Wi-Fi. Not as easily come by as you might think. (When viewing rooms, I actually haul my laptop to check accessibility.) Example: One place I couldn’t get on and the woman hadn’t a techie clue; another place, the fellow didn’t know what a router is.

Transportation. There’s a light rail station somewhere’s in the vicinity. Yes, I’m already thinking ahead to winter.

Water. The South Platte River flows close by and alongside it a some 18-mile path for bikers and pedestrians.

This I learned quickly: A bicycle is a must. Denver’s a biiiig biking town!

Rent. Within my budget.

Roommate: She seems nice, reasonable, like someone I might become friends with and whose company I will enjoy.

Bonus points: Animals. One small dog (albeit somewhat yapper) and two old cats.

Cons

Size. The duplex is old late 1960’s small. A bit tight and cluttered – not as bad as it could be. It could benefit from a deep clean and decluttering.

Size again. The room is tiny. Tiny. It can accommodate little more than a bed and small dresser and the closet’s scary small and narrow.

Storage space. Approaches zero. There’s one small closet that’s filled to the brim (and poorly organized); it leaves no place for storing boxes (i.e., stereo, printer) and bags.

There’s a real concern that my bedroom will be a storage unit with a bed and me somewhere amidst it all, which has the potential to be very psychologically problematic.

(Yes, we discussed the storage; no, I don’t foresee a rush to declutter and organize said sole closet.)

Cleanliness. I’m a neat freak, so they say; she’s not.

Neighbor. A trashy neighbor with kids run wild in the complex reportedly create an eyesore and noise disturbance.

In sum, for space constraints, this may be a short-lived situation. Frankly, I foresee unpacking little and living out of boxes if for no other reason than there’s no place to put anything!

Also I’ll be on hands and knees scrubbing common areas not long after I move in, assuming that we finalize the deal. My work’s cut out for me.

On the upside, it is a good location, a doable rent, a pretty nice woman from what I can tell, a few animals and simultaneously an open door into a residence and exit door from the motel.

Not ideal but doable.

It’s a beginning … and critical completion to stage I so that I can proceed to stage II: employment.

Stay tuned. If you dare. ;D

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trayflow
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 14:49:11

    Good news. It is a step in the right direction anyway. I will be waiting to hear news of employment for you. Positive vibes headed your way!

    Reply

  2. Anonymous
    Jul 24, 2011 @ 19:05:16

    Well, let’s hope the “pros” outweigh the “cons” and that the employment phase goes smoothly!

    Reply

  3. fotografzahl
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 06:11:01

    Interesting to read how you progress step by step in your new life.
    Hope you’ll find employment soon, so you can take the next steps.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 13:19:43

      @fotografzahl – I’m nuthin’ if not methodical! 😉 Securing employment will certaiinly take a load off, particularly since it’s been three years since I last held a fulltime job!

      Reply

  4. countrybydesign
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 09:07:09

    Oh, I do hope it works out for you. Sounds like the pros outweight the cons. There are very few of us who end up with totally ideal environments. Access to the great outdoors would be a big plus for me, plus a good neighborhood. Praying that it is the start of more good things to come your way.

    Reply

  5. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Jul 25, 2011 @ 09:15:29

    Second that opinion; no place is perfect. Its just a matter of deciding what one can and what one cannot live with.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jul 25, 2011 @ 12:57:35

      @Expat – “Its just a matter of deciding what one can and what one cannot live with.” Not entirely; sometimes choices are made for you based on conditions or circumstances (i.e., money).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

