Je suis ici. Ich bin hier. 私はここにいる. Io sono qui.

Over the river and through the woods to grandmother’s house we go.

If it’s to grandmother’s house I’m going, I’m in trouble; both passed over long ago.

Still the lyric sing-songs in my mind …

Across the rolling desert hills of eastern Washington … though the alpines of northern Idaho … along the river … down into sage desert of southern Idaho … through the Great Basin of Utah … across the awe-inspiring plateaus and river valleys of southeastern Utah … through cooling green … hot desert … and a couple summer thunderstorms for good measure …

I arrive:


my final destination … at approximately 3:45 p.m. on Friday, July 8, 2011:

And there it is folks, to anyone who’s been wondering all this time where I’m headed.

Colorado, again. A state of prior travels, not yet residence.

Colorado … where at the border marker I exit the Subaru … kneel … prayerfully express what is in my heart … kiss a rock … lift my arms in rejoicing shouts of “hallelujah!”

Colorado … where I rise and step to the marker … plant a kiss … and say hello to a lizard who seems there waiting just to welcome me …


Within moments, a family arrives. I take their photo at the border, they take mine … so I have it on record.

I am here.

Those are the only words need be written today.

+ + +

Day 2 in Colorado – Saturday, July 9

There is still the state to cross … about another 4-1/2 hours … until I arrive at the final destination: Denver area.

I can’t believe this is really happening!

Rather, I can and I can’t.

For a long time, Colorado and metro Denver were an idea … a concept … a vision … a goal so distant down the road that it seemed like an eternity until I’d get there.

Get here I did. And am. I’m still arriving.

The miles have been good to me. The motion … the movement across four states (five after counting arrival in Denver) … the travel … the drive of solitude have given me time to process.

Where the rubber hits the road is where my life is sparked.

How horrible … sinfully wrong … and just plain no good and toxifying that my last road trip was five years ago (relocation to Washington).

We will fix that … and a whole lot more.

+ + +

I write from a small and very nice town of Glenwood Springs, between Grand Junction and Denver, elevation 5,000+.

Nestled against the soaring — a word I foresee writing often as Colorado unfolds — red mountains brushed forest green, Glenwood Springs offers a decent cup of coffee, last enjoyed five days ago in eastern WA, a solid Wi-Fi connection and spot to exhale and write.

I’m fatigued by the days of sitting but I am happy … hopeful and … (dare I say it, at long last?!) home.

+ + +

Long is the way, and hard, that out of hell leads up to light.

– John Milton

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Invictus
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 14:46:58

    And so it begins…Definitely excited on your behalf. Good luck, and as usual, if you need a reference, send ’em my way.

    Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 07:52:22

    C’est magnifique!

    While I haven’t had the chance to visit, I always heard good things about Denver from people I met on vacation. Hope you like it!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jul 10, 2011 @ 08:48:44

      @Capra – Oui, magnifique. 🙂 While not without its challenges and bumps, there’s solid evidence to support this as a good fit. (And for what it’s worth, which is a lot, it’ll never be as bad as the place last left.) Definitely a new chapter and as always appreciate your riding along. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

