sound bites

There Are Lies, Damned Lies and Statistics

Mark Twain said that.

Rumors are being floated by the weathermen that the sun will shine on July 4.

And wouldn’t that be a sight! A holiday of barbecues, Freedom Day festivities, air show and evening fireworks not under the London-like cool gray drizzle and overcast for the first time in x-number of years, which I’m in no mood to look up.

Ironic if the sun shines brightly and warmly on the day of my departure! I’ll take it.

Bye Bye Birdie. I Mean Bed.

Apparently I’ve sold the only remaining “albatross” burdening my departure: my bed. By “albatross,” I mean no disrespect, the bed’s fantastic. If not also very underpriced on craiglist, forced by these economic realities.

Will and I spoke yesterday – a portion of which went something like this:

Him: I’ve just moved into an apartment and I need a bed.

Me {point blank}: You’re not going to be one of those craigslist no-shows, are you?

(thought: because if you are, you’re wasting our time and I don’t need that.)

Him: No. When I say I’ll do something, I do it.

Me: Are you with the military?

Him: Yes. Former Coast Guard.

Me: I thought so. Military people are usually more reliable and better at doing what they’ll say they’ll do than the norm.

Bed goes bye-bye tomorrow morning, the biggest and last of the furniture to find new homes and leaving only boxes.

Home Sweet Home. I Hope.

I’ve met the young couple who are taking my apartment. It’s their foray into living together. It’ll be tight with two (I’d say suffocating and restricting but that’s just me) but they’ll make it work until a larger vacancy opens, I reckon.

Caitlin and Ricky purchased the dining table-chairs! Yey yey yey! It really is a beautiful set with a touching history – shared by the woman who sold it to us. And I’m getting the $50 for which we bought it. That’s all I wanted.

There was a mom with her 23-ish daughter who came to view it when it was marked down to $35 — which felt all wrong — in  a move motivated by desperation, fear of getting stuck with it and a endless steady stream of craiglisters promising they were interested, then disappearing without word.

I didn’t like this woman and I especially didn’t like the daughter. They seemed snotty, spoiled and unappreciative and, further, exhibited no regard for or recognition of the quality of the table.

Frankly, I’d have donated it to the rescue mission than undersell it to them.

Fortunately a door opened at the last minute. I’m very grateful and pleased that the set has a home with the young new tenants.

So all furnishings found new homes (albeit in the nerve-wracking 11th hour). “Things’ll work out,” my dad was heard to say on occasion. Perhaps he is right.

Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow

Last night marked a goodbye to a group of friends and fellows. Tears poured down my face like wine at the Thanksgiving table of relatives.

And I am thankful for that group. Oh so thankful. In my heart they’ll remain whether I’m 15 or 1,500 miles away.

In this case, the latter.

Three days and counting …

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 03:02:17

    Thinking of you as you prepare to depart.

    Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 04:22:35

    Well, I just hope that the weather will be nice, no matter what the talking heads say about the matter…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

