Lamp Unto My Feet

Am I the only one within a 100-mile radius who remembers that old religious TV series?

It aired Sunday mornings from 1948 to 1979. I didn’t watch it, I only remember the name.

And it was first to spring into mind when I awoke.

The weathermen were grossly embarrassingly wrong again. In a good way.

They forecast so-so temps and gray cloud cover over the weekend.

In fact, the sky’s a brilliant blue and the warm sun is out!

That’s what I wrote. Not a misprint. Not an editing oversight. Sun. Warm. Out.

And that means ONE thing:

YARD SALE!

At last the opportunity for which I’ve been waiting for weeks!

And just in the nick of time, I might add!

For this time next week, I’ll be sitting pretty in an apartment emptied of everything but the boxes going with me, neatly packed and stacked awaiting departure the next day.

July 4th, for those who missed that important announcement.

Today’s superb weather raises but one question: Am I doing the right thing by holding it on a rare gorgeous Sunday? Have I a shot in hell of making enough for even a half tank of gas?

When the gray gives way to sunshine, folks here tend to flock to the outdoors to hike, to play, to mosey about just enjoying. And many events are on tap this weekend, including the very popular annual Taste of Tacoma across town at Point Defiance Park.

Oh were that I lived down the street from that now!

Anyhow, I dunno whether I’m wasting a perfectly great day and opportunity to be out and about by sitting on a street corner pedaling my cheap wares for some cash so badly needed.

Time will tell.

Meanwhile, I’s got to skadaddle to set things up.

Floor lamp anyone?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 12:27:07

    Oh that is a timely arrival of the sun. Hope it all goes well. 🙂

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 17:29:14

    @Klopp – Mr. Sol was out when the sale began; by the time it was over, the thick gray had returned. A short-lived window of rays but oh so worshipped. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

