brain-fried, bumper stickers and Brancusi

So wow. Is my brain fried.

I slept soundly and awoke 45 minutes shy of noon. Of course I didn’t shut off the laptop until 2 a.m.-ish and enter slumber until 3:30-ish.

Yester was another 10-hour day on the computer researching my route.

Driving distances.

Candidate locations for stayovers.

Motels: prices, reviews of facility and surroundings. Safety is primary with a fully-loaded car (including luggage rack!).

Highways and byways.

Yes, I said highways.

Many factors define what can be done and not done on this journey. The interstate is the fastest and safest means from point A to B. It certainly isn’t the most scenic.

So in an effort to strike a minimal balance for an anticipated 5-day drive, I’ve been researching state roads for portions of the trip (and of course respective lodgings).

Oft have I been rerouted by price. For example, finding an affordable Motel 6 in Park City, Utah just ain’t gonna happen! No matter how thoroughly I dig into that haystack.

Such realities and so much very much more make this move exceptional, meticulously researched and planned like no other — and there been many many moves, including overseas. This one matters like no other has or will again.

The crafting is superb. It has to be.

Though tiring, the hours of research (to date, a sum easily exceeding 40) have paid off. Possibly even saved my life or staved off injury.

How so?

One of the state rural roads I was looking to take has earned the badge as one of the most dangerous and deadliest in the country.

There’s even the bumper sticker:

And a very interesting piece on the road here. If you check it out, don’t miss the photos and captions.

I read that. And revisited Google maps with the question: What’s another non-interstate route from A to B that adds minimal hours and mileage?

And I unearthed an alternative, another rural road with rich offerings of history and scenery and better odds of making it out alive.

A vehicle loaded to the brim is not my preferred way to travel. It doesn’t lend itself to languid exploration and sightseeing — though I will say that if I pass an old prison, I’ll be very hard pressed not to stop and visit! If I had my druthers and financial means, I’d get my things relocated by a different method and then dive into my own intimate and offbeat mode of light travel.

However, things are what they are.

And my gifts in research, planning, thoroughness, meticulousness and attention to detail are at the forefront at this time and serving me and this change well.

And a change it is! Ohhhhh yeah.

Even determining day of departure has been been undertaken with exceptional care; that’s another post that may or may not make publication.

Hmmm. Were I to describe the current process in essence, I would write:

Shape-shifter and sculptor. Like the artist, my hands are dipped in the etheric clay, giving shape and form and reworking and smushing down and reshaping and molding until a piece is produced that resonates with the divine and me and inner self.

Brancusi: Sleeping Muse

And that’s how it is, on this cool, damp, wet overcast Sunday. Two days from summer but you’d never know it by Puget Sound!

Not for very much longer. Not long at all …

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 16:15:55

    It really makes the size of the states real for me when you speak of travelling for 5 days to get to your new destination. Wow – that’s a big bit of land you’re sitting on! I think you’re very wise to be putting in such a large amount of time into researching your route. I like the analogy of the etheric clay: poetic.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jun 20, 2011 @ 21:00:47

      @Kloppenmum – The greatest distance between two within the contiguous 48 states is 2,892 miles — 4, 654.2 km. That distance gains by leaps and bounds, of course, when America’s Hawaii and Alaska are included in the equation.

      Reply

  2. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 21:44:27

    Tip to toe we’re just over 2,000km (longer and skinnier than what most maps show) but that sunddenly seems tiny!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

