I’m cheap! Or, at least my things are.

Even a broken clock is right twice a day.

Such is the measure of accuracy of our weathermen. Example: Their prediction over Memorial Day weekend: Sunday, bright, warm and sunny, the best of the three-day weekend. In reality: cold, gray, drizzly, the worst of the three-day weekend.

But, as I said, statistical odds favor our hapless weathermen eventually so their prediction for this weekend just might come to pass: Warm, sunny and temps in the mid-70’s — for the first time since November 2010!

What does that bring to mind?

Yard Sale!

Yup, the whittling-down of stuff in preparation for my exit is both intense, as I’m leaving with only what fits in the car, and nearing maximum volume, with only weeks until departure. With the bulk already long gone, it’s now gettin’ down to the basics, the nitty gritty, the things like furniture and other small luxuries. Lamps for instance

So if today’s splendid weather carries into the weekend as predicted, it’s a yard sale tomorrow and/or Sunday.

The goodies up for grab are nuthin’ fancy. Boy is that an understatement! Indeed, there’s nothing quite like a major move to shine the spotlight and magnifying glass on the cheap and the crap!

I look around the apartment and both celebrate evidence of my gifts in resourcefulness and inventiveness and cringe at the poverty and statements beneath woeful wares. The furnishings are minimal – I’m OK with that – and with the exception of a couple pieces, most of what I’ve got was either uber-cheap (craigslist or Goodwill) or free (discards or giveaways).

Collectively, they ain’t cash cows. If I didn’t need the money so badly, I’d likely beckon the thrift store’s truck to come get the stuff and be done with it. I’d thank the things for serving a utilitarian purpose and send ’em off with a bye-bye kiss and prayers for positive futures.

However, given the chance to help others, I take it. And if I can help others by passing on my stuff for little to nothing, especially with soooo many poor, struggling, unemployed and hurting, then I’m your man! Err, gal.

And I’m cheap too! Or my things are anyhow.

So we’ll know soon enough whether (a) statistical odds bear out the weathermen’s forecast of fine weekend weather and (b) I get rich via the yard sale.

Hey, a tank of gas is a tank of gas!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 23:11:58

    Exactly. Go for it, I say. Hope the weather man gets it right for you.

    Reply

  2. lexiemom
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 07:44:00

    Maybe I missed it in an earlier blog, but when & where are you moving?
    Once you get to where you are going, I’ve found “freecycle.org” very helpful. It is a totally free exchange site. Nothing for sale. If you have stuff, you post it to give away. If you need stuff, you can look to see what is available. I’ve gotten a free TV for my basement workout room (granted it’s old and small, but it works, and it was free), and I’ve given away lots of old baby stuff & furniture that was just cluttering up my house. It’s a great site for free furniture or whatever you need when you get to your destination.
    Best of luck on your move!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jun 05, 2011 @ 13:11:55

      @lexiemom – Departure is 3-4 weeks away to a destination where the sun shines most of the year. I’m acquainted with freecycle; it’s practical for unloading a small number of items, not a household.

      Reply

  3. Deck
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 08:11:23

    Maybe I missed it in an earlier blog, but when & where are you moving?Once you get to where you are going, I’ve found “freecycle.org” very helpful. It is a totally free exchange site. Nothing for sale. If you have stuff, you post it to give away. If you need stuff, you can look to see what is available. I’ve gotten a free TV for my basement workout room (granted it’s old and small, but it works, and it was free), and I’ve given away lots of old baby stuff & furniture that was just cluttering up my house. It’s a great site for free furniture or whatever you need when you get to your destination.Best of luck on your move!
    +1

    Reply

  4. Flamingo Dancer
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 02:41:36

    If I missed the sale day – hope it went well; if still to come, I hope it goes well!

    Reply

  5. longeyesamurai
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 19:32:29

    Hopefully, it was a tie…

    A tank of gas is actually worth its price in gold.

    As for weatherpersons, there are just a little above the ones announcing the Metro outages as far as trust goes by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

