Do you know what this is? x 3

Do you know what this is?

A gross way to begin the day!

The half-and-half had a week remaining, according to the date stamped, but it was toward the end of the carton and just didn’t make it. And lemme tell ya, it tasted as bad as it looks! So down the drain it and fresh coffee went and it was tea instead.

Do you know what this is?

My winterizing window insulation film. That’s still up in fucking June!

Moose in the shot is a bonus.

Seriously. As I do every year, I put the stuff up in December. And here we are, deep into spring, winks away from summer, and it’s still that cold and that gray! If you’re living in a place where you need insulating film into summer, there’s something fucking wrong with where you’re living!

I remember last year, around June or July, when it looked like we might finally catch a break and enjoy a spell of good weather. Because the air warmed and the sun shined for three days in a row.

So I stripped the film. Mistake. BIG mistake. That weather blip was fool’s gold. Summer 2010 turned out to be the Summer that Wasn’t and one of the coldest and sunless on record. Around here, we’ve been waitin’ for some kinda summer since 2009!

Anyway, I learned my lesson about the film. Were I to stay (kill me now!), I’d simply leave it up all year rather than go through the work and money of  taking it down and replacing it every year. Why bother! That film’s necessary eight fucking months of the year anyhow!

Besides, winter film through summer be damned, I’ve come up with the better solution! Move 1,500 miles (2415 km) away!

Do you know what this is?

A means to build muscles. Or back fatigue. Or both.

Those are bags of coffee grounds. Many cafes give them away for use in your garden, you know. And while I don’t have a garden, I do have a Strip of Death outside my apartment. I feel compassion for the soil. So I care for it with coffee grounds.

Bagged grounds aren’t as light as you’d think they’d be. Or should be. When they’re wet. As I discovered when I took both bags from Starbucks. And walked home. 1-1/2 miles (2.4 km). Lugging 24 pounds (10.8 kg) of bagged wet grounds in my little arms. With a 14-pound (6.3 kg) pack on my back!

Yup, each of them babies weighs 12 pounds (5.4 kg)!

Boy I’m buff!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 03:02:24

    Do coffee grounds add any nutrients to soil? I’d think of them as a clever way to keep weeds down.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jun 03, 2011 @ 13:13:22

      @Expat – The primary use of grounds mixed into the soil or compost is to improve the soil’s levels of nutrients, particularly nitrogen. Grounds are especially helpful when an acidic soil is desired for certain plants. There’s much debate about whether the grounds deter insects and/or weeds.

      Reply

  2. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 14:36:53

    Thank goodness you’re moving is all I can say. And yay for being buff…:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

