A Capital Idea!

Now I’ve gone and done it!

One momentous life-changing action, to be rapidly followed by a series of more. One action that I’ve fantasized, envisioned, imagined and waited for, in tremendous pain, for the longest two years of my life.

One more month and then no more

streets at noon in May

wet roads

hasty shot at noon in May

coats and hoodies in spring and summer

noon sky in Tacoma in May

gray skies on the near daily.

My note yesterday to the landlords:

The astute observer will note the letterhead. Don’t think it a coincidence that I selected that paper from the possibilities! Pen too. Even the way I folded the note was in alert mindfulness. Moving. Getting the hell outta Dodge. Going as far as the coins in my small leather pouch will carry me. Saving my life. Saving my future. From the darkness and mud emerges the lotus. Reaching. Moving. Advancing. There’s no going back now. A Capital Idea indeed!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flamingo Dancer
    May 31, 2011 @ 21:02:34

    Good luck!

    Reply

  2. fatcatfromvox
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 10:53:16

    Good luck indeed!

    Reply

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:43:53

    Yay!

    Reply

  4. fotografzahl
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 02:44:57

    Wow, finally, the last month!
    And your photos documenting the weather are rather convincing, I must say…

    Nice handwriting btw!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:11:27

      @fotografzahl – Nice to see you! In terms of miserable dreariness, the weather speaks for itself, I’m merely the messenger! 🙂 Though I think my handwriting has suffered for extensive computer use, thank you for the compliment! I took care to write legibly! 🙂 Reminds me of a funny incident from way back. Was sitting in the university plaza writing — and not quite as legibly as in the above note, haha, and my writing was even more backhand than now — when some guy walked by, glanced over, came up to me, looked at my handwriting and said: “Unusual. I thought you were writing in Arabic.” Never forgot that!

      Reply

  5. Invictus
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 07:37:53

    Good on you, Al; I can just imagine how liberating it feels to know you’re almost at escape velocity. If you can manage to swing by this little burg, let me know when you’re coming and I’ll buy you lunch.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jun 02, 2011 @ 12:03:55

      @Brandon – Thank you, my friend! It is do or die, figuratively and literally and I expect to return never unless en route to Canada. In fact, I’ll be passing through our former haunts (just today burned the midnight oil researching said lodgings); conditions permitting, I’ll consider a detour north to take you up on that! – plus I like your downtown.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

