Your mission, should you choose to accept it: Read a rock.

The world is not flat.

In fact, it’s not only plenty round but a vibrant active entity with its own life force and network of electromagnetic waves, highways, portals and leilines.

And just as Christopher Columbus’ voyage debunked the myth for some that the world is flat, your own view of life is enlarged by a single and simple discovery.

Take this rock.

A rock in the Pierce County transit plaza in downtown Tacoma.

A large rock indeed. It measures about 4 feet in width and is clearly one heavy sucker.

Before you seat yourself, pause to look … pause to appreciate:

then another and another:

What first appeared to be “just a rock” is revealed to be a work of art.

A creation with a name well preserved, literally carved in stone:

Now, I reckon that for most people, it would end there.

But I’m not like most people, not by a long shot. I’m a thinking creature brimming with curiosity; among my favorite words in any language are who, what, where, when why and how.

So when I returned home, I googled Douglas Charles Granum.

And was amazed at what I discovered.

Douglas Granum is an artist who has been bettering the world with his creations from glass, metal, stone and paint for the past 40 years.

“A sculpture is a poem without words,” he says. I love that. And I find some of his works beautiful.

his Corydalis, of fabricated aluminum

his Coastal Spiral

his Jigsaw

Looking Up at the Bottom of the Sea in glass

Glass of Grapes 2 in paint

Mother and Child


Dear readers, sometimes a rock is just a rock … and sometimes it is a thread to discovery.

Again, I challenge each of you (especially those in narrow routines and ruts – I know who you are and so do you) to broaden your world with a discovery … and then broaden another’s by sharing it. Be a Christopher Columbus.

Look at what we all learned today simply because I took the time to, uh huh, read a rock.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    May 15, 2011 @ 15:25:45

    Keys locked in the car. Ain’t going nowhere today…learned: don’t leave keys in jacket pocket. Not really that exciting or informative.

    Reply

  2. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    May 15, 2011 @ 15:55:24

    Nothing. Just venting frustration. Craig has spare on his keyring, but won’t be home until 6pm. Was meant to have day blogging for me, but have two smallest boys with me now.
    (Will hopefully discover something more interesting for you. )

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      May 15, 2011 @ 16:01:03

      @Klopp – {sigh} You’ve missed the spirit and message of the post. It has nothing to do with me. It is to stimulate your own inner Christopher Columbus, to in essence pause to read the rock that is no rock at all but a key to discovery and learning.

      Reply

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    May 15, 2011 @ 16:08:47

    My own inner CC is somewhat lost amongst laundry and diapers…hope to rediscover it soon. 🙂

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      May 15, 2011 @ 16:13:50

      @Klopp – If I may be bold, it is precisely those lost in the world of laundry and diapers and things not puppy dog tails who are especially served by acquaintanceship with Christopher.

      Reply

  4. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    May 15, 2011 @ 16:45:47

    I’m sure you’re correct on that point.

    Reply

  5. longeyesamurai
    May 15, 2011 @ 18:07:24

    Wow, that rock is mesmerizing. Did you come by the entire text by any chance on the web as my web-fu is weak

    It kind of reminds me to a sculpture in Washington http://thekryptosproject.com/ that is basically a cryptogram which has not been broken yet at this time. Looking for the site, I just saw that you can buy a replica of the sculpture. A bit pricey, but it would be quite the conversation piece.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      May 15, 2011 @ 18:51:32

      @Capra – The text, to my research, is a circling conglomeration of literary quotes and references. For example, beginning from the center, it was Georgia O’Keefe who said “I am frightened all the time, scared to death but I’ve never let that stop me. Never” to “When I consider how my light is spent,” a poem by John Milton to “I am rich for I had a mother who read to me” is from “The Reading Mother” by Strickland Gillian to “my father had warmth and goodwill,” a seeming reference to Odyssey by Homer and on it goes, on it circles.

      The Kryptos Project is fascinating, thanks for the link! I’d love to be inside the brain of its creator, the one who could come up with that …

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I’m not at all surprised that you’d take to the rock and find it fascinating.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

