life. can. be. fucking. unfair. and hard.

Why must bad things happen to good people.

That is the contemplation I’m left with last night. That and heartsick compassion and desire to be of service in any way I can.

Yesterday when our women’s gathering disbanded for the evening. F. went to her car to find the window smashed into smithereens. Shards of glass lay everywhere, in a thick pile on the road, throughout the car, deep inside the front seat and door.

Someone or someones had gone after a black bag; nothing else amongst other items was touched.

They probably thought it was a computer, a laptop. It wasn’t.

It was materials for a work project. Due to the nature of the materials, the case was entrusted to her; attached to it is a $500 penalty if she loses it.

F. is a good person who, like me, lives in severe financial distress. Extreme. She fights just to survive. She cannot afford the fine. She cannot afford to have the glass replaced.

As a couple women hunted down a broom and dustpan to sweep up at least a good portion of the glass, others of us, including me with a flashlight (always keep one in the car), searched around the dimly-lit area, dumpsters and building in the hope that the thieves dumped their useless “goods.”

Nothing.

I am heartsick for F. She was very upset and in a mild state of shock. We circled around supportively and extended suggestions of a course of action.

Fortunately or unfortunately, I could advise her all too well; the experience of having my car broken into not long ago is still fresh.

In my case, they also smashed the driver’s side window of my car parked in a bookstore lot for two old shirts that had absolutely no monetary value and were priceless in sentimental value. (That post lies in the archives; I don’t care to dredge it forth.)

So I was able to guide and advise F. on how to proceed and also provide also a recommendation of an excellent auto glass supplier.

These are the kinds of things you wish you didn’t know and you know only because life kicked you in the teeth.

I don’t know what will be the outcome for F. Where will she get the plastic sheets and tape to cover the missing window? Will she have the money for that? Is her car with its missing window safe in her neighborhood? If she goes to the car dump to search for a matching window, will she find one? Will she and L. really be able to successfully install it?

And if she doesn’t find a matching window, what then?

So many questions without answers as yet.

On my drive home, I was awash with heartsick empathy for her and her situation. I have been there. I am there. And there is private pain too, for in my own destitute state, I’m unable to help her in accordance with my nature, which is to give her the money for the window.

Poverty is a terrible state for the self and moreso for the people and animals that it renders you unable to help in the way that is needed.

I’ve nothing but compassion and prayer to offer her.

Dear Spirit,
Please bring Frankie the window that she needs and at no to minimal cost in your perfect way. Also, release her from the severity of her employer so that she may go free of more pressing financial hardship. Bless her and meet her needs and keep her safe. Thank you.
Signed,
me (someone who knows and cares and hungers to help)

Ideas are sparking as these words are written. Help is on the way for Frankie. I can feel it.

For today this is all. Peace, out.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aubrey
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 14:29:55

    I can only say that your friend is lucky to have a champion such as you.

    Boyfriend always goes to car dumps for parts, and is always successful. I would go there to at least get a temporary window. As for installing, there are plenty of instructions online (I just checked) – maybe that could help.

    I wish you better luck and goodness in the future!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 19:03:18

      @Aubrey – Her car is old (manual rolling windows!) and it is likely to be a challenge finding the right-sized window. I am hopeful that another in the group can come with the proper tools and mechanical knowhow. Disassembling and reassembling a car door is not the piece of cake one might think or wish. Hopefully I’ll be able to report a happy outcome for her soon.

      Reply

  2. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 16:40:01

    It is indeed one of the difficult things in life, that bad things can and do happen to good people. I agree with aubrey, Frankie is lucky to have such a good friend in you.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Apr 20, 2011 @ 18:54:03

      @Klopp – Well, I’m not her good friend, neither she mine. She is an acquaintance, a good person, someone in need, someone in a terrible situation and life hardship and that is more than enough reason to help.

      Reply

  3. Flamingo Dancer
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 04:41:20

    If she reports it to the police and can report a file number from the police report, maybe she can get the fine wavered.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: on a window and a whoops « Barefoot Blogger

Leave a Reply

