A rose is just a rose. A fingerprint is but the iceberg’s tip.

Listen up, especially you mates Down Under!

Thanks to moi and stepmom, the mystery of the fingerprint on the Kiwi shirt is unraveled!

A riddle that stumped even the locals and neighbors — solved!! by two anonymous natives of America some 8,000 miles away!

koru

From the Institute of Modern Art:
“{This art piece} is reminiscent of the circular aspect of the Maori koru, a distinctive spiral form … Or alternatively, it resembles a fingerprint, the form adopted as the corporate logo of the revamped national Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongawera on its opening in 1998 Boy Am I Scarred, Eh! is such a piece.

“The spiraling ever-decreasing circles in a koru pattern leave the impression of a thumbprint. This symbol is perhaps the most durable physical representation of an individual’s identity that we have. That identity is celebrated because it is unique—no two thumbprints are ever the same.”

Thanks again L. for your help!

You may now address me as Miss Marple.

Class dismissed.

{despite inclination to task certain mates with erasers-clapping ;)}

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trayflow
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 16:11:06

    Ah, I should have known this. I visited the museum in 2006 and I bought myself a piece of jade in the shape of a koru when I was there. Good detective work.

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 16:59:03

    @trayflow – I know. Thank you. And I lied {hands over chalkboard erasers for clapping}. 😉

    Reply

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 01:52:31

    I’m going to rebel the duster-clapping exercise on these grounds:
    I didn’t even think of linking a koru with a thumbprint, because the Te Papa thumb-print logo was completely ridiculed when it was announced and then everyone seemed to forget about it. But I do love the koru and koru designs AND I think it’s a very cool t-shirt. 🙂

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Apr 10, 2011 @ 19:11:49

      @Klopp – What connection exists between public ridicule and your not linking the koru and thumbprint (unless you ridiculed it as well). The leap from koru and thumbprint is but a hop. (Matter of fact, I speculated over that connection when I discovered the koru while researching the mystery.) At any rate, glad to have been of service in illuminating an aspect of your culture. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

