Good things grow in giving.

There’s a method to my madness.

And precision to my moves.

From sifting through possessions and papers to decluttering to packing to transportation, every detail receives attention, every action thought and care.

Examples:

Good sturdy boxes are collected usually at Costco for the non-perishables transported to the food bank.

Newspapers are taken to either a bin for the food bank and/or the animal shelter.

Clothing is sorted (and not dumped into one big bag for the Goodwill). Goodwill clothing costs money. Some people don’t it even for thrift-store prices and so helping them is the first priority; thus clothes go to the women’s shelter.

Anything the shelter can’t use is then routed to the Goodwill

Today’s the first time there was a tweaking in that lineup.

Operation Airlift Japan.

Two local radio hosts helped birth a mission to collect and transport supplies to Japanese orphanages whose kids range from very young to teens. We’re talking basic like socks and shoes and winter coats and water and rice and toys and coloring books and blankets and oh so much more.

The public outpouring of donations has been TREMENDOUS. Truly and zmazingly generous. The hosts anticipate filling a cargo plane, easily.

Monday marks the final donations day. The timing is ideal. This past year of giving things away giving things away looking to give things away as I whittle my possessions down to a carload is now near completion.

I’d set aside a large bag of clothing and bedding for the shelter; fortunately, it turns out, I hadn’t yet made the trip.

Between Japan as my adopted home and place of heart and profound need, that bag now sits with other donations earmarked for Operation Airlift.

I’ve one winter coat.

Correction. I had one. I decided someone in Japan needs it more than I do at the moment. My thinking is that I can pick one up at the Goodwill after I relocate. They can’t. And into the zippered pocket I tucked a small personal item of sentimental value, tied with a pink ribbon.

Just a little personal touch from the heart to convey that I’m thinking of you in Japan.

Like I said, there’s method in my madness and thought and care in just about all I do, especially involving moving. I’m just so grateful for the opportunity to give to Japan in some tiny way that’s tangible.

I wish that the individual who receives the coat finds some comfort from the gift secreted in the pocket … if nothing else, to know s/he, along with everyone else, is being thought of every day …

Good things grow in giving. Always.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trayflow
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 02:36:42

    [this is good] and brings a tear to my eye. So very thoughtful of you. It will all come back to you some day.

    Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 15:53:27

    Still harvesting good karma, are you?

    Have to admit that I’m surprised there’s no such effort here. At least there’s still the Red Cross…

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Apr 03, 2011 @ 16:05:12

      @Capra – As with some great causes, this one began with one simple and innocent email from a local woman involved with a Japanese orphanage that fell into the “right” hands and exploded immediately into Operation Airlift Japan. Reminding again that right action, however slight it seem, *is* important; one may never suspect or foresee the greatness that may flow from it. I’m just very grateful for the opportunity to give, tangibly.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

