on a surprise, a steamy birthday and el Sol

My birthday yesterday began with a surprise and ended with me steamed.

Steamed and soaked into blissful balance.

The day began with a surprise phone call from galpal N. in a neighboring town. Her birthday’s on March 17 — St. Paddy’s Day — and last year we combined our neighboring birthdays into one lunch. Yesterday she emerged out of the woodwork with an invite. Big surprise! And a nice way to begin the day a year older.

Then of course there was the freebie birthday visit to the women’s Korean bathhouse/spa. My tutoring gig cut short the hours to 3-1/2, otherwise it’d have easily doubled! I scrubbed, soaked, sauaned-ed and stretched out across salt or sand covered by canvas or bamboo in hot earth-energy rooms featuring walls of charcoal, stones or gems. Salt, sand and stones, oh my!

Ohhhhh, so soothing, relaxing, nurturing and healing. I’d happily give them my rent instead of my landlord!

One of my strong traits is body awareness and Asian bathing brings it to the forefront. I observed a marked change in body response this year compared to that in the prior two years. Normally I’m a water baby drawn to the pools and steam saunas. Where there’s water, I go. High heat is not my element. I prefer steam saunas over dry, seas over desert, you get the picture.

However, yesterday I couldn’t get enough of those heated energy rooms! I was like the desert survivor who falls with ecstasy into a watering hole – in reverse. I’m starved for the warmth, the drying out of excessive dampness. It confirms/validates what my body’s been been telling screaming at me for the past years: too much dampness, too much cold and too little sunlight in the Pacific Northwest! Body is not happy or healthy. I’m not happy or healthy.

A brilliant idea struck as I was lying there, cold wet bones and tissues absorbing the warming (not scorching) heat: I’ve got a few months still in this climate, and if I can afford it, I’ll visit the spa for a full day as near my departure date as possible to initiate the healing process as I move forward.

Also, when I cross the state line, with Subaru loaded to the luggage rack, I’m gonna pull to the side of the road, step out, kneel and kiss the ground.

It’s a new year begun, the baby’s traveling down the canal. Everything in me must be focused on the getting out, the delivery. Soon, so soon.

Along the journey in this year of the circle is my guiding force, vision, my mantra and star: the sun, sol, sonne, zon, taiyo, sole …

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DJ
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 15:31:01

    Sounds heavenly. Belated birthday wishes to you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. bizemom
    Mar 16, 2011 @ 19:08:37

    Happy belated birthday!

    Reply

  3. Karyn @ kloppenmum
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 01:01:47

    That sounds so good – I could do with a great bit dose of pampering myself.

    Reply

  4. fotografzahl
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 17:28:58

    Belated birthday wishes from me as well!

    Normally, I manage to simply ignore bad weather, but this year I can’t wait for (a hopfully warm) summer to come…

    Reply

  5. longeyesamurai
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 03:50:22

    Happy belated birdthday wishes. You seem to have that wisdom thing down to pat…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

