Am I Kubrick’s long-lost love child?

Stanley Kubrick, the creator of “2001: A Space Odyssey.”

Sometimes dreams are weird.

Take last night’s:

It’s daylight.

I’m outside by the (real life) telephone pole just outside my apartment.

I’m watching an Air Force jet oh-so-close just above in a blue sky as it banks hard to the left and proceeds into a few acrobatic spins before its final approach to (real life) McChord Air Force Base. The roaring thrust of the engines thrill; the flight maneuvers are riveting.

Suddenly it’s night.

My building has partly morphed into a residence where (seemingly) sister and father reside. From inside my apartment I hear a commotion and crash. I step outside to, surprisingly, a landscape frosted in an inch of snow.

Next to the telephone pole an alien spacecraft resembling a lunar rover has suffered a hard landing. There are some broken and collapsed pieces but the body remains intact.

I glance toward my building just in time to see the lights switched off. The building’s black. Everyone’s gone to bed.

I’m without my keys. And dressed in a single layer of light clothing (and barefoot?).

I’m in a dilemma. I’m underdressed, in snow, with no way to get inside and everyone asleep.

The alien spacecraft is familiar and of no concern.

Suddenly a thick presence appears behind my left shoulder. A male presence, a man sprung from the shadows of the (real life) edgy hood. He has bad intent and is a moment from swinging his arm around me from behind.

I abruptly awaken to bring the dream to an end.

What interpretations that?!

What I’ve long said: Humans are to be more feared than aliens?

Or I missed a calling by not joining the Air Force? Or NASA*?

 

*National Aeronautics and Space Administration

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 11:44:31

    Sounds like you need to lay off the anchovy pizza before you go to bed. 🙂

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Mar 03, 2011 @ 11:55:32

      @Expat – lol. First I must develop a liking of pizza to lay off it! Speaking of which, did you know it made a Top 10 Worst Space Food list? The link’s here:

      “When you get down to it, space pizza is a poor substitute for the real deal. “It simply doesn’t meet anyone’s expectations,” Kloeris said. “You can’t get a crispy crust. It’s always soggy or chewy.” In fact, NASA has never flown pizza into space for this reason — only the Russians on board the Mir space station ever did, and from none other than Pizza Hut. “It certainly hasn’t been in demand since then, if that tells you anything” Kloeris said.

      Reply

  2. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 15:04:17

    I suspect the reason NASA never put pizza into space was that there’d be crumbs floating around in zero gravity, getting into sensitive places.

    Reply

  3. Sharky
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 19:40:44

    I must ask why you felt the need to define NASA…

    Reply

  4. kloppenmum
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 16:36:13

    Dreams fascinate me, and that’s a great one. Hope you manage to make some sense out of it.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 18:04:33

      @kloppenmum – “Hope you manage to make some sense out of it.” Think I already did (witness the two closing lines). 🙂

      Reply

      • kloppenmum
        Mar 04, 2011 @ 20:44:04

        I was thinking more along the lines: there’s less to be feared from strangers than people you know; and bits of your personality may have changed but you’re still much the same.
        But that’s me being too deep and meaningful, probably.

        Reply

        • allycatadventures
          Mar 06, 2011 @ 17:25:30

          @kloppenmum – “I was thinking more along the lines: there’s less to be feared from strangers than people you know; and bits of your personality may have changed but you’re still much the same.” – Where in the dream do you get that?

          Reply

  5. kloppenmum
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 17:45:25

    …the ‘alien’ ship causes no concern, but the ‘person’ in the dark close-by does… and …there are some broken collapsed pieces, but the body is intact…

    See, too deep and meaningful. 😉

    Reply

  6. kloppenmum
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 23:54:29

    …too much blood in my coffee stream, perhaps? LOL
    I won’t take up dream interpretation for a job – obviously I’m way off base. Never mind, at least my attempts have created a bit of ‘conversation’. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Dougie dream-ea-ea-ea-eams « Barefoot Blogger

Leave a Reply

