Skip the sausage. Save a life.

Acts of kindness are so important.

I live and die by that truth and am thus positively compelled to share this story that made national news

When I heard it, I thought: “That’s something I’d do.” Sadly, I can’t confidently say that it would be the common response. It’s comforting to know that a person of this thoughtfulness and character exists and going the extra mile hasn’t fallen into extinction.

Out of Memphis, Tennessee, a piece by Nick Kenny:

A pizza delivery driver was called a hero Monday after she likely saved an elderly woman’s life.

Before Monday’s incident, most neighbors knew little about Memphis resident Jean Wilson, except that she’s eaten pizza daily for the past three years.

“We make her pizza every day before she even calls, because we know she’s going to call,” delivery driver Susan Guy said.

Guy often delivers Wilson’s regular order, one large pepperoni pizza, but recently workers at her restaurant noticed an unusual break in the pattern.

“She hadn’t called in three days,” Guy said. “My boss told me about it today.”

Guy insisted to her boss that she be allowed to check on Wilson.

“He was like, ‘Naw, you don’t have to do that,’ and I said, ‘Yeah I do. Clock me out if that’s what you gotta do,’ ” Guy said.

Guy drove to Wilson’s house and knocked on her door, but no one answered. Then, she banged on Wilson’s windows, but there was still no response. Running out of options, Wilson ran to neighbor Larry Comeaux’s house for help.

“The pizza lady came over and knocked on the door wanting to know if I’d seen the lady across the street,” Comeaux said.

“And he said, ‘No, maybe she’s not home,'” Guy said. “And I said, ‘Well, not home?’ I said, ‘How many times have you see her leave?’ And he goes, ‘Never.'”

Guy quickly called 911. When police arrived, they broke down the door to Wilson’s home, and found her lying on a floor inside.

They soon learned that Wilson had fallen on Saturday, and couldn’t get over to a telephone to call for help. Investigators said it’s possible that her pizza-only diet may have saved her life.

“She treats us really well,” Guy said. “She appreciates us, and that’s something we don’t get in customers a lot.”

Late Monday evening, Wilson was in non-critical condition at St. Francis Hospital. Tuesday, Wilson was offered help in the form of an alert system by a local company.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bizemom
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 16:18:22

    It is reassuring to know that there is still some human “kind” in the world.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 18:45:27

      @bizemom – Isn’t it? Particularly disturbing was that the boss blew off the driver when she expressed concern and insisted on checking in with the old lady. One more confirmation that if the meek are to inherit the earth, they’d better dang well hurry ’cause the uncaring jerk authorities are ahead and in power! (If one ever wonders why I, with rare exception, loathe authority, one need look no further than this story as an example!)
      \
      BTW, were it my call, I’d be demoting that manager (after a good talking to) and promoting that driver!

      Reply

  2. kloppenmum
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 20:50:11

    Very cool post. I love to hear stories like this, it just goes to prove good things do happen. I am pleased it was reported – so much negativity in the media.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:38:12

      @kloppenmum – Ain’t that the truth. There’s more touching elements to the story.

      When she heard from her manager that the customer hadn’t called in three days, she insisted on driving over to check on her, saying “I gotta go, I gotta go.”

      Her manager said, “ ‘Nah, you don’t have to do that.” She replied:
      ‘Yeah, I do. Clock me out if that’s what you’ve got to do.”

      In how many employees’ minds would that thought even enter?

      And:

      The driver’s mother had had cancer and twice she’d fallen. “I’d come home and she’d have been on the floor — three hours one time, and a couple of hours the other time — so I knew that was a possibility.”

      It shows strength of character and kindness to consciously and thoughtfully draw from personal life experience and venture outside the Job Box to assist another human being. I like this woman. A lot. 🙂 Here’s her pic if interested; her face has kindness written all over:

      Reply

  3. kloppenmum
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:42:28

    I had a look, and I agree. Very cool lady, pleased she had her 15 minutes of fame for something like this. 🙂

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:49:54

      @kloppenmum – And I as well. I’ve been surfing for the exact location of this pizza place so to send her a note of praise and her manager a wrist-rapping. Haven’t ID’d the location yet (it’s not like there’s only one Domino’s in Memphis!) but am getting close.

      Reply

  4. kloppenmum
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 22:53:11

    What a great idea. 🙂

    Reply

  5. cruisekitten
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 06:02:14

    Yet again you have touched my heart strings.
    I am glad to see there are still people out there that truely think about others.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Ain’t the pepperoni but the prose that delights. « Barefoot Blogger

Leave a Reply

