Hit the road, Jack. And I won’t be back no more no more no more no more

“It’s hard for me to imagine just picking up and going like that.”

That comment was made by a friend yesterday and falls into the top 5 list of comments most-oft spoken my direction.

“Eh,” I replied, “it’s pretty much how I’ve lived my life. It’s old hat.”

And it’s true. I’ve no problem, in spirit and concept, picking up and going and planting myself elsewhere in the world. It’s my traveling nature meets adventurous and independent spirit. The nomad life is deep in the genes and I’m comfortable in that skin. Give me a horse, a yurt and a backpack and I’m good.

The challenge is staying put and that’s a complicated and personal issue that I’d dare not broach publicly.

Matters of movement are on my mind, spurred partly by yesterday’s conversation with a friend and partly by the awareness that I must make a decision about my next destination. The clock is ticking. It is now down to two. Each is viable, each a different story arc.

Oh, there’s so much more to this matter. So much more.

“Make a decision. Make a decision. You gotta hit the road. You gotta save yourself. Better your life. Go where the wind in your heart takes you.” My spiritual counsel speaks.

March brings not only spring’s arrival (in some parts) but my birthday as well. Spring 2011 brings also a birthing of a new chapter, long overdue. I can feel it. I feel it in my bones.

Actually, truth told, what my bones speak most about is dampness and cold. “Get the fuck outta the Pacific Northwest.” Gotta love the bluntness of those bones!

Just airing a few thoughts as I sit poised for massive changes. On a fence that I gotta get off of and a mere months away from handing to the universe my well-earned Get Out of Jail (Not Free) Card, packing up my modern horse, my Subaru, and leaving. this. behind.

And that’s how it is on this day of February 15, 2011 in Tacoma, Washington. Toodles.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bizemom
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 16:06:11

    I get a 5 yr itch to move.
    In general, I understand the feeling of needing a change either physcially, geographically or personally. It is in my core. Probably brought on by childhood and my independant streak.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 18:21:52

      @bizemom – “I get a 5-year itch to move” – wow! a veritable lifetime in my book! My moves, if not by location then at least by residence, occur every couple years on average. Some stays are as short as a few months. (And no, not with the military, though I’m asked that all the time!) And with so much of the world yet to see and so little time and no money, stagnation sets in and stagnation equals fatal poison. Others’ mileage will differ. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyhow, with that 5-year-itch of yours, I’ll await your posts on an entirely new life, work, location within the next five years ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply

  2. kloppenmum
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 17:39:27

    How exciting. The world is your oyster.
    I had wander-lust but it passed, I still hope to travel but want to get over feeling constantly tired first! Travel needs energy. (and all the children toilet trained)

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Feb 15, 2011 @ 18:10:32

      @kloppenmum – “The world is your oyster” – oh were that true! This is a move laden with restrictions, constrictions and limitations. It is hand’s down the hardest move I’ve ever made (and there’ve been many!) and yet oh so necessary. Raising kids is a journey of its own and more exhausting than traveling the world over! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply

  3. ladywise
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 06:51:20

    I would not dare to try to count the times I have moved in my life. I think I am finally in my resting place on three wooded acres in rural Alabama with a place that is paid for. I do still get the yearnings though. It’s like a fear sets in when you get too comfortable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

