Driving Miss Dougie

Confucious say: Create from something in your car.

Maybe not. Dougie say. And what Doug does, I do.

Here’s the thing about my car. I keep it as tidy and sparse and free of clutter as I do my abode.

So I stood surveying the slim pickings chewing it over. And began with this old gum tin.

My stepmother gave this to me years ago, emptied of what I can only assume was dragon firey cinnamon gum, as she’s reasonably aware that I’m an Asian trapped in a Western body.

I used to use the tin to extinguish my hand-rolled smokes. I seldom smoke now but the tin’s of special and sentimental value and travels with me in my (beloved) Subaru.

So Thing shi-ba (18): Make something out of something in your car.

Breakfast at Tinfanny’s

Ingredients: Costco cereal coupons and All-Bran cereal, my emergency baggie food toted in a backseat plastic box.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kloppenmum
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 18:28:22

    Our car is always FULL of half finished projects, but I have never thought of creating from what is in the car. Currently: lots of sand and banana peels, a variety of lego pieces and assorted clothing from three small boys. Some sort of scarecrow perhaps!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 22:24:08

      @kloppenmum – Well, I can’t take credit for coming up with the project of “make something from something in your car.” These daily creative prompts are from the book “365: A Daily Creativity Journal” by Noah Scalin, who features some terrific creations by participants at his blog. With the supplies in your car, your possible projects are infinite!

      Reply

  2. ladywise
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 20:26:39

    That’s pretty cool Ally. It’s fun to see what you guys keep coming up with. I keep a clean house but have never kept a clean car. I think it’s because I never feel like I’m finished enough in the house to move out to the car to clean, so there’s no telling what all I could create from the stuff in there.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Feb 03, 2011 @ 22:19:02

      @ladywise – Yeah, it’s a blast seeing what Doug comes up with so can only imagine the excitement of two or more peeps doin’ these projects! They are so much fun! Yeah, passsengers have gotten in my car and asked “is this new?” — and I got her in 2002! My work desk (when I’ve have the fortune of employment, lol?) is also very clean and uncluttered. Fact is, I’m just a highly organized and unmessy person. Anywhere! ;D Your car sounds like 1,000 projects waitin’ to happen – lol.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

