a seagull is spotted. and in its beak a job!

Today marks an occasion not seen and unwritten for 2-1/2 years. The start of payroll employment.

Tempering the news is this fact: The job is only four to six hours a week. Not enough to live on or to get me off unemployment. (I’ll continue to collect the same weekly amount minus my hourly earnings.) So the employment does not advance my financial situation or ease its severity.

Neither does it offer an opportunity to develop into fulltime work due to teacher certification requirements and laws.

What it does, however, and importantly is put me back into the workforce and onto a resume that ends in 2008 with a cleaning job.

2008!

I’ve been regarded as a leper in interviews with some potential employers as if the 2+ years of unemployment indicate something wrong with me, not the economy.

The job — the work — that begins today: tutoring for Sylvan Learning Center. After-school tutoring of elementary school children in basic English.

Now we’re getting somewhere!

This is the first job since 2004 that’s remotely affiliated with my strongest skills, strengths, abilities, education and (former) career in editing and writing. Communications.

The shackles of slavery are not yet off my wrists and ankles. Guess I “knew” that if I wasted away into skin and bone, only two things could happen eventually: I’d slip out of my chains or die.

The incoming tide also affecting the country did not forget me. Today I begin my first 2-hour shift assessing the English level of school kids. Big blog-worthy news indeed.

The seagull. The seagull is spotted. A sign of better things to come …
And I the beaten exhausted sailor am grateful.

–25 January 2011

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. trayflow
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 13:44:06

    Congratulations! I hope this leads to bigger and better things. Even though you won’t be making any extra money at this point it will do wonders for you as a person–an emotional boost, if you like. I haven’t worked since I went on maternity leave back in October 2007 and I am looking forward to the day that I am back in gainful employment.

    Reply

  2. Erin Michel
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 14:57:40

    Oh, this is SO good! I’m really happy for you. Any work is great, and this job is doing something that you’re going to really rock at!

    Reply

  3. Invictus
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 15:30:26

    Congrats, and welcome back to the workforce; I know that part’s been very painful. Maybe that’ll blossom into more work? Sylvan’s got centers all over the U.S., it seems.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jan 26, 2011 @ 12:09:22

      @B – Sans the teaching credential, weekly tutoring hours max out at around 10 hours. Yep, one of the perks of Sylvan is its wide presence, inc. in my two top destination contenders. Income amounts to basically gas money but it is a step in a better direction and will in time lead to other things, either inside the organization (i.e., administrative work?) or outside.

      Reply

  4. Aussie Emjay
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 17:12:04

    Great news! I’m sure that you will do really well in this – as you say, English is something you are very good at.

    Reply

  5. countrybydesign
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:27:41

    Fantastic! I know it isn’t your dream job, but who knows what it might lead to. Just moving in a positive direction is encouraging. Get out there and give it all you’ve got!

    Reply

  6. Country Cinderella
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 22:10:59

    Congratulations, I hope this is a sign of even better things to come.

    Reply

  7. lexiemom
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 05:33:54

    Congrats! That is great news. I hope it works into something more for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

