the stings and scars of seven

A poignant sting comes with today’s Dougie creative prompt, number seven … shichi.

Cooking and baking are passions. When I (dare to) dream of a real home, the kitchen is central; it’s the room where my tribal members circle, a room with quality cookware and knives and so much more.

The past four-and-a-half years, the past two-and-a-half in particular, have been profoundly and deeply, deeply dark, colored by hardship, poverty, joblessness, ruin and despair in shades of light ash gray, on the brightest end of the spectrum, to solid unlit blackness.

My cookware reflects the hardship. It’s cheap crap pieced together from the thrift store and others’ discard piles. More than any item, my cookware reminds me of my darkest journey of the soul, the places I’ve been and about which I’ve never spoken or written except to the bare pages of my journal; it speaks volumes about descent, pain and the bitter bite of shame.

When I leave the Pacific Northwest, every piece will be left behind, returned to the Goodwill or the garbage from which it came, including one very blackened and beat-up pizza pan.

Thing 7: Make a stencil and use it in your work.
Thus from the ashes metaphorical and actual and a love of cooking that would not be destroyed arises:

Flour Power

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Doug
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 16:23:15

    You must have a very steady hand to lift that off without disturbing the flour. I have a load of cookware I’d like to get rid of too, it offends my sense of order. Off to the Goodwill, great idea.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Jan 20, 2011 @ 19:04:00

      @Doug – I do indeed have a very steady hand. I just love exquisitely detailed tasks and crafts and have often said that were I a doctor, I’d be a heart surgeon. Yes, please do ship unused cookware off to the Goodwill! Especially if it’s good stuff. You never know which impoverished person it might delight!

      Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Jan 21, 2011 @ 02:19:42

    -Sending cookware to Goodwill seems like a great idea. I think I’ll probably do that next time I go near one.

    Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

