Finally fashionable. On a fluke.

I’m hip and fashionable! Entirely on a fluke!

Fashions are wasted on me. I care not a whit. Those who know me will attest to that. I’ve had people give me clothes or money to shop because they’re wearied by some threadbare item! Cotton and comfort are my lifelong mottos. My unofficial guru’s Neil Young.

So imagine my shock upon discovering I was wearing a shirt with cache!

It went down like this:

I buy my clothes at the Goodwill, typically spending 99 cents for a shirt afforded by my budget though on rare occasion I might go as high as $2 for a shirt that’s screaming exceptional quality and me-ness.

I meet a woman at a gathering and model recent successes in Goodwill shopping. Have a look at this long Korean wool coat:

99 cent coat

99 cents on a yellow tag sale!

I go on to the next layer, a zippered fleece red pullover, brand new or damn near close, also for a buck!

Under that I’m wearing a long-sleeved T-shirt, a portion of which is exposed by the unzipped pullover. I’ve no thought of celebrating the shirt because though it’s extremely nice, at $2, it’s not really a find.

The woman looks past the unzipped pullover. “Is that a life is good shirt?”

“Yeah,” I respond, stunned. How does she know that? “Got this for a couple bucks.”

“You’re kidding!” She proceeds to enlighten me that Life is Good is a huge brand nationwide. They do clothing, sports and travel gear, home wares, even pet goodies. I had no idea. Why would I?

“I’ve been to their store in Seattle. That shirt sells for 35 dollars.”

“Are you serious, 35 bucks?!?” I exclaim incredulously.

Goodness, MaryLou!

I do love this shirt. I recall buying it not only because it went over budget but the quality of fabric and stitching impressed and the fit and style screamed me. I recognized it as a keeper. Indeed it’s by far my favorite long-sleeved T and those who know me can expect to see me in it for the next three decades, if it survives the washings.

Though I won’t ever again wear it while cleaning a kitchen with bleach …

Do What You Like - Like What You Do

 

And that’s how I became fashionably hip and cool. For five minutes. A total fluke.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. countrybydesign
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:25:20

    Good for you! Wish I lived where I had access to Goodwill or Salvation Army. My grand daughter shops there all the time.

    Most of the additions to my wardrobe in the past several years have come from Wal-Mart. Job security. Of course I’m still wearing sweaters and such that I have owned for years. If I’m ever hip, it is entirely by accident!

    Reply

  2. ladywise
    Jan 08, 2011 @ 07:45:22

    That’s cool Ally. I do a lot of thrift store and Goodwill shopping myself. Always have, even when I had money. My son was voted best dressed in jr. high one year and no one knew that all of his clothes came from thrift stores and yard sales. He used to love to go with me and he was good at finding great deals on name brand stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

