Snow poll

To virginalize or devirginalize, that is the question …

(the creation of two new words, however, is not.)

I love it when a post or comment at another’s blog gets me thinking and/or inspires a post of my own!

That’s precisely how the snow poll came to be.

In response to another’s posted photo of countryside pristine snow, a visitor remarked that she loves being the first to leave tracks in fresh snow. Interestingly, my response was entirely the opposite! I don’t want to be the person to mar the tranquility and beauty of the scene.

A psychologist might have a field day with such radically different responses to the same photograph!

At any rate, from that humble posting was born this fun lil’ poll. Take a look at this picture.

What’s your immediate inclination? Do you stand back and leave the snow untouched (virginalize) or leap forward (devirginalize)? Or something else entirely?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Drude
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 00:30:41

    Virginalize!… especially if I have the camera around..
    But occasionally I do like to stomp all over pristine snow…

    I avoid walking in my own garden in front of my windows when it’s all pretty… but out in the wild nature where it’s less likely that I’ll see it again I will stomp tracks just to see how deep the snow is.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 30, 2010 @ 12:01:11

      @Drude – “I avoid walking in my own garden in front of my windows when it’s all pretty” – I completely get that, I’d do the same. Out on the wild, I’m even more reluctant to ruin a pretty picture though you do bring up a good point about measuring snow depth!

      Reply

  2. Country Cinderella
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 02:51:58

    For me it is a mix. I like to admire it when it first falls and then I like to see lone tracks thru it, they can be made by an animal, or they can be mine. There is something very symbolic about those individual tracks, and what it symbolizes differs depending on my mood. If I am the one to make the first set of tracks I try to be very neat and careful. I especially like it when the snow is really deep (well really deep for this area, I would not want to go trudging thru snow that was feet deep instead of inches deep).

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 30, 2010 @ 12:05:09

      @CountryC – “well really deep for this area, I would not want to go trudging thru snow that was feet deep instead of inches deep” – lol. Well, toss aside those Jane Fonda tapes, you know that snowshoeing’s quite the workout! Ya know, I was thinking about tracks when I posed the poll. I don’t mind at all animal tracks but human tracks, ggrrrrrr, nothing mars the scene more!

      Reply

  3. eremophila
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 03:01:20

    Coming from an area that doesn’t ever receive snow, I look at this image and definitely wouldn’t want to spoil it. I suppose I’ve been guilty of despoiling a beach with my footprints though…..but not just for the sake of putting my ‘mark’ on the land. If anything, I prefer to leave no trace of my visit to a natural area.
    Interesting question.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 30, 2010 @ 12:27:14

      @eremophilia – Now you’ve aroused my curiosity – what’s your region of residence? Funny you mention footprints on the beach because I was thinking about that as well and the difference between footprints in the sand and snow. Sand almost begs for footprints (especially as they can be immediately washed away and the palate renewed) while snow is another matter. There’s nothing quite like virginal snow except perhaps virginal dunes of sand. Thanks for playing in in the snow, errr, I mean poll!

      Reply

  4. Doug
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 03:05:50

    I like it like it is. I can add nothing. But if someone else has already gone, I am so making snow angels…

    Reply

  5. Aussie Emjay
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 06:56:06

    I like to take photos of virgin snow and then to be the first to squelch through it.

    Reply

  6. mkirkd
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 08:32:45

    Since I have very little opportunity to see snow I like to see snow in a virgin state.

    Reply

  7. allycatadventures
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 12:08:27

    @Emjay – “I like to take photos of virgin snow and then to be the first to squelch through it.” – Hellion! You shan’t ever be invited to my Norwegian countryside spread!

    Reply

  8. fotografzahl
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 18:23:21

    I’d probably leave everything untouched, but really depends on the mood. 😉

    Reply

  9. longeyesamurai
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 05:30:21

    Out in the wild, I would do the utmost not to mar the untouched areas.
    In urban areas, I would “plow” the field, if only because, it losts its pristine quality so fast by turning into a gray-brownish slush…

    Reply

  10. Ren Kris
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 07:00:00

    As evidenced here, I’d go ahead and make a snowman 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

