Monday’s Man on the Street

Got movies on the mind.

Reason being that last night I finally saw “Dominick and Eugene,” the 1988 film about twin brothers played by Ray Liotta and Tom Hulce.

I rent my movies from the library. The upside is that they’re free; the downside is that the selection isn’t all that great and many of the films are old, if not obscure. However, that can also work to one’s advantage toward catching up on films with names familiar but unseen, like last night’s feature.

The Man on the Street happened by too.

And he has a burning question: What film can you watch over and over again and never tire of it?

For me, that’s easy: Tarantino’s “Reservoir Dogs.” I’ve watched it around 25 times. More than any other film. I know every thread of the stories, words, nuanced mannerism and subtle expression and yet I could enthusiastically watch it another couple dozen times.

“Fargo” by the Coen Brothers is running a probable second but presents no threat to “Reservoir Dogs” just yet. Unfortunately my library doesn’t have Dogs. Just as well, I might never leave the house otherwise.

So, your turn.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin Michel
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 20:49:15

    Hmm…
    “Silence of the Lambs.” Creepy, much? Seriously, though, I’m a huge [creepy] fan.
    I’m tempted to list off films that have been a big part of my life, such as “Forrest Gump,” “Labyrinth,” or any of the “Harry Potter” movies, but I think I’d tire of those quickly if I watched them a lot.
    I like “Reservoir Dogs” but I don’t think I could do it all the time. Tarrantino’s dialogue wears on me after awhile.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 14, 2010 @ 12:03:13

      @Erin – “Silence of the Lambs” – I’ve seen that numerous times, because of its periodic appearances on TV, and while his acting is superb, the visuals don’t capture me like certain Tarantino films. BTW, on the subject of “Silence,” every time I see it mentioned, I’m reminded of a friend who couldn’t stomach the evilness of the character and had to leave the theater. To this day, I don’t know whether he ever saw the film in its entirety!

      Reply

  2. Invictus
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 21:39:33

    As much as I like Tarantino (I’ve got 4 of his films on DVD, 5 depending on how you count), I can’t bring myself to watch his films over and over again. Even Reservoir Dogs tapped me out at about 8, though I’m sure I’ll see it again sometime (it’s one of the bunch I’ve got). The only film that leaps to mind for me is “The 13th Warrior.” Never get tired of an Arab and a bunch of Vikings banding together to slaughter a shitload of Celts.

    Reply

  3. Doug
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 02:55:42

    Benny and Joon, Forest Gump, Princess Bride, The Outlaw Josey Wales, and others too numerous to mention. Having said that, it’s rare that I sit and watch anything in its entirety these days. No attention span at all…

    Reply

  4. Invictus
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 13:53:24

    Yeah, I’ve read Ebert’s review before, and while I certainly can’t argue his points, the movie-going experience I get out of it is qualitatively different. Then again, I knew it was based off a Crichton novel when it came out, and since I have a generally low opinion of his work, maybe I just adjusted my standards downward. Doesn’t matter: I enjoy it nonetheless. I also enjoy reading Ebert’s stuff, even when I don’t agree with him; he’s one of the most thoughtful writers out there, and his site is one of the few I consider an absolute must-read.

    Reply

  5. mkirkd
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 16:21:22

    One of my favorite movies is Thousand Clowns. It just is wonderful on so many levels.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

