on SanDisk, stockings and a secret

Potpourri on a gray rainy Saturday …

It’s Flashy!

After reading of my dilemma with the laptop’s basically dead CD drive and lack of a means for backup, a reader stepped forward and offered to mail a flash drive he wasn’t using.

A whopping 4 GB it is! — more than sufficient for my book draft if not the whole of my laptop’s contents (256 MB memory). I immediately backed up the book and what a great and securing feeling that is! It’s all good. The reader and 3D friend knows who he is and to him I write merci beaucoup, mon ami, merci.

What a Card!

I’ve made Christmas cards long as I can remember. Every season brings a different theme and materials. Since I just adore textures, colors, patterns and papers, the cards often incorporate one or all these elements.

Each card is individual and a little different from the others. Creating them is time-intensive, meditative and oh of joy and pleasure!

I never know who’ll get which card until they’re completed. Only then do I sift through while holding a recipient in mind and select. Unbeknownst to the recipient, he or she is receiving a card of hands, heart and mind that’s uniquely his or hers.

Every year someone remarks on the pleasure of receiving a homemade card; why, just the other day, a fellow came across last year’s (which he’d saved!) and again expressed pleasure! It’s not necessary that I hear but nice. Really, the pleasure is all mine and if by sharing my time and handiwork the world’s made a little brighter, particularly in a season widely misportrayed/perceived as a Norman Rockwell painting, it’s good, it’s all good.

only looks like a quilt!

 

Boxing Day

All righty, an opportunistic seasonal nod to our Canadian neighbors to the north on the occasion of a mystery box whose contents and story are for a posting anon. Guess away as you wish; I’m reasonably confident it’s a stumper.

mystery box

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Country Cinderella
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 18:37:04

    is it slippers?

    Reply

  2. countrybydesign
    Dec 11, 2010 @ 18:53:57

    So glad you were able to get your computer backed up. That is on my to-do list for tomorrow. I know. I should have done it a long time ago.

    Three cheers to you for making your own cards. I have thought about making cards, but it hasn’t happened, so far. Perhaps next year.

    Is it a mouse?

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 11, 2010 @ 19:33:09

      @cbd – I immediately backed up the book but not yet other folders until a little files housecleaning is completed. Until the CD drive went belly up, I backed up with some regularity. (Many learn the importance of that only after they’ve lost everything – eesh!) Manufactured cards are not my style but a few years ago I did receive a freebie in a holiday gift bag that ended up in someone else’s hands. Your guess is also registered and like I told CountryC, mum’s the word – for now. 🙂

      Reply

  3. longeyesamurai
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 07:12:58

    Acck! Thanks to your story, I’m backing up my notebook right away. Love the card idea, had only an ounce of your talent, this is something I would probably do.

    As for the mystery box, I’ll venture a guess of… a blanket?

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 12, 2010 @ 11:29:39

      @Capra – Now, now, everyone has talent. If nothing else, you have a computer *which you have backed up* ;-p and with it Christmas clipart can be downloaded, combined with a pithy greeting and voila! — homemade cards! As for the mystery box … your guess is registered and like a fine wine no contents will be revealed before their time.

      Reply

  4. mkirkd
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 17:33:40

    Yea, I’m so glad you got the flash drive to back up your book!

    Your card is just wonderful I’ve never seen anything like it…no wonder your friends love them.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Dec 12, 2010 @ 20:11:26

      @mkirk – Yes indeed, backing up brings peace of mind, in particular when it involves one’s life work. 🙂 The originality streak’s pretty profound on one side of the family; three of the four in my family of origin make their cards, each year different and each year I soooo look forward to receiving one, so I can sorta extrapolate my friends’ responses to my cards. 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

