paaaaaarty!

I can’t remember the last time I had so much fun!

There’s a buffet of appetizers and side dishes. In the kitchen crockpots of meatballs and chicken and an indecipherable hot dish.

Warm on the stove simmers a giant pot of, according to its creator, apple cider spiced with assorted spices and rum and …

I stop listening after I hear “rum.” Search that baby down!

The countertop’s laden with bottles of wine and the beer’s in the fridge. The one bottle of champagne disappears before I finish the spiced rum punch. Oh well.

And the desserts table, oh my! Cakes and cookies and brownies and pie. Sugary site enough to send a diabetic into a coma!

I know not a soul at the party of the guesstimated 38 who fill Kevin’s little house.

On second thought, I lie. A handful I met at the Halloween costume shindig, the one where I went as Willy the prisoner and blogged on the outfit and makeshift ball and chain that got rave reviews.

I just don’t recognize ’em in their street clothes! Neither them me as a girl instead of an escaped inmate with a 5 o’clock shadow!

The highlight’s the white elephant gift exchange.

Evidently not everyone knows what a white elephant is. An item with little to no value to its owner and/or others. White elephants are perfect for giving away that tacky Christmas sweater or bobblehead pig bamboo planter or dogs playing poker painted on black velvet.

Numbers are drawn (I get 5) and rules established. An opened gift may change hands no more than three times.

One person put a great deal of work into his/her contribution to the pile. One giant box leads into a succession of more, each slightly smaller than its container and wrapped. After about eight boxes, the recipient got down to a tiny box that looks like it might contain a necklace.

And even that, it item hanging on a chain, is wrapped! In the end, her gift’s a slip of paper that reads: “This gift bites. Pick another.” The room’s in hysterics. All told, she ends up with that funny piece of paper and one box from the midway point of candies from possibly Halloween, no one really knows save the very creative creator!

Like I said, quite a number don’t have the concept of a white elephant. Some pretty nice items appear. A nice wooden box of even nicer ornaments. That gets passed down a few times.

A bottle of wine and box of chocolates is clearly prized by the number of times it gets  taken.

Guy next to me happily trades up to a cordless battery-operated battery that he says he can use.

One gal draws a box of truck Legos. I like it myself but am prevented from taking it by my early position in the drawing.

The Santa hat with the pointy bell-topped tip that bobs back and forth and plays music is a big hit. Even more so is the Doggy Poop calendar. Now that’s a white elephant!

My anonymous contribution? Apologies. I intended to take pictures to share but was in such the rush to wrap and get going that a description must suffice.

After scouring the Goodwill — what better place for a kingly white elephant on a pauper’s budget?! —  I pieced together a mugs-and-plates set. One plate from Bavaria features wild boars and some writing in German.

The second plate’s painted in a white-and-red checkered pattern of a pinic tablecloth with black ants crawling across.

Then two mugs. One’s strewn with various sizes of one photo of a lovey-dovey couple — a photo you might take at a photo booth. Looked like a mug from an engagement party or wedding! Charmingly tacky!

The second mug, it leans to the side and had a silly message that got a lotta laughs.

Curious what I drew? Not a white elephant but not complaining:


And the crows I feed outside my window, they get their party favors too. (I’ve blogged about how wherever I go, I’m on the lookout for food first and foremost for the birds.) The perk of staying to clean up is their gain!

Indeed a jolly good time’s had by all!

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladywise
    Dec 04, 2010 @ 16:26:05

    Sounds like a wonderful party! I’m so glad you had a good time! Looks like you came home with some great “goods” as well. I used to work for the Dollar Tree and I would have people come in looking for a good “gag” gift or “white elephant”. My first preference would always be to send them towards a pack of the pink sponge rollers. Remember those? One dollar a pack at the Dollar Tree and people were always elated at the idea. Just for future thoughts. lol

    Reply

  2. ladywise
    Dec 05, 2010 @ 14:13:02

    Yes they do still make them and we actually sold a lot of them. They come in pink or black! lol

    Reply

  3. katie
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 20:38:35

    I would have no problem with getting a bottle of wine as a white elephant gift..especially white wine(I love red wine but it makes me loopy!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

