for a friend

So here it is, the day before Thanksgiving. Thirty-seven days left in the year.

Perhaps it is the solemn dark-ash sky, the snow and the ice on the ground and the chilly temperature of 28 degrees that draw me into contemplation beside the flames of the inner hearth. Random thoughts flow; all are tinged with the spirit of Thanksgiving and impending year’s closure.

A dear and loyal friend of 34 years, Scott has a birthday on November 26. His mother is the engine of Holiday Central; Thanksgiving and Christmas are very big deals in that family. Scott is not a complainer or a whiner. He is a humble, thoughtful and contemplative soul, extraordinarily intelligent, caring and gentle.

So it was with some surprise when he confided in me many years ago the pain around his birthday. Falling on the cusp of or day of Thanksgiving, each year it was overshadowed by, one might say gobbled up by, the holiday. His experiences touched and saddened me.

Long years and miles have rendered us physically absent in each other’s lives for eight years and growing. His words and sentiments though stayed with me. Thanksgiving brings not only mindfulness of gratitude but of Scott and his “lost” birthdays.

Come Thanksgiving time, I always send him special loving thoughts and wishes to a friend and wonderful human being whose enormous integrity, insight and gentility set him apart and could serve as a model and inspiration to all. You aren’t forgotten. Happy birthday dear Scott in two days.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladywise
    Nov 25, 2010 @ 08:01:29

    That’s a nice post for an obviously close friend Ally. My birthday was always around or on Thanksgiving as well, however, for me it was right the opposite effect. Where most everyone else only got a Happy Birthday from everyone, my birthday has always been celebrated because the family was already together for the Holiday. Someone has always made me a cake and I’ve always gotten to be the center of attention on Thanksgiving, even now as old as I am. So I have always been thankful for having my birthday on the holiday.

    I hope you and your friend have a great Thanksgiving today!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 25, 2010 @ 10:18:07

      @ – “I hope you and your friend have a great Thanksgiving today!” – I’m confused; the post reads that we’ve not seen each other in some eight years and growing. I’ve another friend whose birthday is on New Year’s Day. He’ll have stories. Oh, and in college, a friend had his birthday the day before Halloween! Glad your holiday-birthday combo works out nicely! 😉

      Reply

  2. mizunogirl
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 02:56:05

    My Nephew has a Birthday on December 15th or so. I sadly am always forgetting it…This year I made an effort and have his birthday gift (A tenor Ocarina!) already wrapped in non xmas paper and ready to go…

    Winter Birthdays! My Grandma and Mom are in January and February and they often say they feel like they are forgotten after all the Christmas rush…

    But I always figure a February Bday gives you a moment to ask for the things you wanted to get but didnt for Xmas!

    As for me, I am a June Baby….and these days I’d rather stay perpetually this age….

    Reply

  3. mkirkd
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 16:49:08

    I so understand, my hubby’s birthday is one week before Christmas and mine is two weeks after New Years. I got many combined Christmas and Birthday presents and my babysister’s B-day is New Years Eve.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

