Madam Zora speaks {eerie background tunes}

Madam Zora with her lovely crystal ball is paying a visit with a little o’ this ‘n’ that from the smorgasbord.

crystal ball

I see ...

Shake Your Moneymaker

Were that I paid for my prognostications and their accuracy, I’d be into some real money.

Since summer I’ve been predicting this year’s Pacific Northwest winter.

“Long, cold and dark,” I said. The body knows. “We’ll see unusual spurts of sunshine through November.” The psyche knows. “After that, the door shuts and it’s a long dark winter with little light and lots of precipitation.” Unusual amounts.

Now our regional weathermen are falling over themselves predicting what I’ve been saying all along! Hell, I’d a-gone on TV with that for free and saved oodles in salaries to overpaid weathermen who are incorrect 70 percent of the time anyhow!

Okay, not for free, just travel costs and a meal and still a sweet deal. Crystal ball bingo un as we begin hunkering down for a long cold wet one.

Hope Springs Eternal

Hope springs eternal but not at the expense of realism — my rendition of the famous adage. Back in September I predicted a loss of bloggers in the migration from Vox to WP. The recent dropoff in regular bloggers is discernible and now reportable; a number didn’t even make it through the first month. It’s sad and frustrating to watch familiar faces fading and disappearing into the blogosphere’s sunset. (Time for another search for new blood.)

I can think of some who didn’t even make it out of Vox alive for their infrequent presence or absence. I imagine them perhaps one day returning to their blogs to find them – poof! – gone as if by magic. I think about and miss a few and wish them well.

What’s that got to do with hope springing eternal but not at the expense of realism? Well, one can hope that bloggers will stick around but wise realism knows otherwise. Crystal Ball bingo deux.

Can You Drive?

Errr, make that canned food drive.

A week from today, a regional food bank’s holding its annual drive at the Tacoma Mall. Contributors simply pull up in their cars and hand donations of canned and dried goods over to volunteers to load into trucks. One of those volunteers is me and I’m so excited I could burst! So next Saturday afternoon that is.

I’ll be interested to learn the final tally and to what extent it’s up or down in this lousy economy. Blessed be all who are so hurting and struggling for food and warmth as we plunge into the darkest season. Those with jobs, please say a prayer of gratitude. Those without jobs, things will begin shifting and looking up, albeit spottily and according to geography, after February so hang in there. The crystal ball knows.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. longeyesamurai
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 14:37:39

    ’twas a cold wind that blew from the Northwest this morning here… We even had some lightning. Although, the “experts” are talking of a relatively cold winter season, I’ll be more on the look out for snow, hoping we don’t get those freakish storms of a couple of years back…

    As for food drives, while I’m not actively involved I tried to give every chance I get, especially with the recent news that demand increased by a third here in La Cité since last year. Good thing, we escaped the financial storm, right? sigh.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:30:46

      @Capra – Were there any direction toward which we could direct our scowls for our present and all cold fronts, it would be yours. I kid. I did hear on the radio in a 2-hour bout of insomnia through the wee hours the name of the location in Canada from which most cold fronts that hit these parts spring. It was a town name and now after some sleep it totally escapes me!

      Anyhow, personally I don’t mind the snow – and I can manage ice though I do not like it. I do mind the moronic behaviors and frightening ineptness of the drivers here when a few flakes fall. For a region that’s under rain so much of the year, you’d think they’d have a modicum of ability. Not so. They’re just about as bad in the rain! Sunshine. Overcast. Scary, really.

      Reply

  2. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 02:15:05

    I too have noticed some drop from former Vox bloggers,

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:38:53

      @Expat – Observation and history show that once the drop-away occurs, the bloggers continue to post infrequently or disappear altogether. Matter of fact {scanning brain}, I can’t immediately think of one blogger who fell into inactivity and then returned to regular/frequent posting.

      Reply

  3. Flamingo Dancer
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 02:10:47

    can think of some who didn’t even make it out of Vox alive for their infrequent presence or absence

    Do you think they are trapped inside the monitor, their noses pressed up the the screen trying to get out?

    I wonder about them too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

