More boring foilage photos. With a twist.

Fall foilage photos.

They’ve been done to death. Frankly, most posted about are pedestrian or unoriginal. Mine are no different. I employ them only as backdrop to a short tale.

Afternoon in month last. I stroll through the park a stone’s throw from my digs.

With a handful of Black-Eyed Susans picked illegally from behind the conservatory. Awed by an aberrant azure sky. Contemplating life and death and other seasonal matters.

Trees with leafy afros of yellows, reds, greens and browns announce they’re not quite ready to give ‘em up to a wintery inevitability. They’ve cast off supply enough for a patchy carpet of crunch under the feet.

Then under the canopy:

I lean in. Stare. Come in closer. Stare more. Closer still. A separation of only inches. Staring. Observing. Studying. Drinking in every detail. No matter how long the lingering or certain I am that he’s dead, I keep waiting for that surprise moment when he leaps up, latches onto my face and thrusts his sharp little teeth into my right cheek.

Too many horror movies? Nah. An imagination forcing yet again that nagging question of whether I’ll get to writing those horror stories!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aubrey
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 14:30:38

    No matter what you say, these pictures are very elegant! Even the photo of the dead rodent, who looks like he’s about to wink and indeed take a bite out of you!

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 17:06:43

    @aubrey – lol – no matter what you say, these pictures are very ordinary! — though I will concede that the dead rodent is the best of the batch … the natural (and untouched) composition of textures and a small leaf draped across as if a blankie … and another leaf like a pillow from which his head has fallen. Dang, there I go inventing stories again! 😉 Anyhow, thanks for poppin’ in and viewing my ordinary photos. 😉

    Reply

  3. lexiemom
    Nov 12, 2010 @ 20:40:56

    This is no horror story, this is a fairy tale with a happy ending; because the best kind of squirrel is a dead squirrel!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Nov 12, 2010 @ 21:04:08

      @lexiemom – “because the best kind of squirrel is a dead squirrel!” – lol, right on sistah! Couldn’t agree more! Not that I overlooked that as I stood so closely staring. Nonetheless, thanks for stating the obvious! And be cautious where you speak that, a whole buncha folks ’round these parts are squirrel lovers cooing and aahhing over their “cuteness,” encouraging their presence and feeding them from the porches! Wrong. Just. Wrong.

      Reply

  4. mkirkd
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 18:42:12

    Great story girl and the fall leaves are wonderful…I’m water and leaved deprived here in the desert..my elm my actually have some leaves turn color this year..*crosses fingers*…it would be fun to take some photos of colorful leaves right in my yard. I tis getting cooler and has been in the 30 that last couple of days and feels fallish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

