cheers! salud! kampai!

Beer fest. Hairy arms.

Say what?

My volunteer mission at the Tacoma Beer Craft fest evening last isn’t to pour ales, rather to join with two other women in operating the tickets table at the entrance.

Two of us are responsible for checking tickets indicating they’ve paid, wrapping bright orange paper wristbands around wrists and handing over their souvenir drinking glasses containing six tokens — their beer money.

Lemme tell ya, a lotta guys showed up! And in America, where there are guys, there are hairy arms.

I band them in multitudes. I band them speedily to keep pace with the deluge. I band with the facile expertise of a longtime bander.

I band catching a few hairs now and then on a guy. None complain. How can they? They’re at a fest where 50 brewers are pouring craft ales! I’m in jovial spirits too, making funny comments and havin’ a grand ol’ time.

The three hours fly by. Then music to my ears! The event organizer makes sure I get a souvenir glass and six beer tokens.

There’s one kink. I’ve got 20 minutes until the brewers stop pouring!

I feel like a kid in a candy store.

I feel like I’m on one of those TV game shows when shoppers are given a cart and 5 minutes to race through the market.

Drinking hastily is no way to appreciate quality ales. Plus half the brewers I don’t recognize! I want to linger at their tables, talk, ask questions about the many varieties. Alas, it’s not to be. I manage to get five small glasses down in the time remaining. On an empty stomach yet. And they were delish!

I have such a good time that I back out of my original Saturday plans for another round of volunteering today. Lots of participants yesterday but today’s a full day and a full house is expected.

The volunteer coordinator was pleased I offered a hand again; this morning two of his volunteers cancelled due to a family emergency.

So I’m off again perhaps to band many a hairy arm again. In the meantime, a handful of treasures fromΒ  the event:

coasters from Tacoma Craft Fest

More coasters

Tacoma fest cup

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mkirkd
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 12:40:52

    Yea, what a great time you had and now there is a lot more to come…I felt like I was there minus the beer tasting.

    Reply

  2. Raymond
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 13:48:47

    Gawd, I’m so glad something is going right for you…may your brain cells float responsibly πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 03:45:33

    Sounds like a fun gig. The beer is working its magic on my sensory system, but its waaaay tooo early inthe morn for a beer.

    Reply

  4. Aussie Emjay
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 18:22:38

    Great coasters.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Oct 03, 2010 @ 18:31:30

      @Emjay – Aren’t they? And I’ll use them too; I don’t own store-bought ones. With dozens of brewers offering freebie cool coasters, the challenge was in keeping them to a half dozen or so!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

