Tonight I’ll be cryin’ in my (non) beer

It’s firkin Friday!

No, it’s not a typo. (And lord knows I’d never misspell that word!)

It’s firkin Friday at the Tacoma beer fest that opens this evening for a 1-1/2 day run at the waterfront.

Tonight and tonight only, some of the participating 50 brewers will be breaking open their firkins.

From M.-Webster: firkin: any of various British units of capacity usually equal to 14 barrel. Origin: Middle English, ultimately from Middle Dutch veerdel fourth, from veer four.

And when that special ale’s gone, it’s gone.

Which means I’m unlikely to get any friggin’ ale from the firkins or anywhere else. Why? ‘Cause I made the big mistake of volunteering!

I kid of course. I did volunteer in a passion for quality beer. It’s a long shift — 4:30 to 9:30 p.m. for the 5-9 p.m. fest. No real time to partake of the goodies there. Efforts will be made to cycle around extra volunteers to enable breaks. We’ll see how that works out.

So I fairly anticipate pouring through the event and imbibing not at all (and definitely not for the $20 entry fee). Perhaps I should pack a bottle from home into the backpack. 🙂

I may not get beer but I’ll finally get some respect. The volunteer info packet says so:

Please note that we have requested volunteers shows up half an hour before their respected shift.

Also:

What not to bring:
Anything that doesn’t fit in a beer festival, if you’re unsure about bringing something (i.e., pet boa constrictor, items with the word “fire” in them, small fragile things), don’t.

So the boa’s on his own tonight.

What not to expect:
Problems.

Good thing. I’ve plenty enough. Including attending a beer fest where I shan’t be drinking!

Heaven on Earth

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mkirkd
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 15:02:17

    Oh I so hope it all goes well, and if it doesn’t I hope you don’t get your picture in tomorrow’s newspaper.

    Reply

  2. inaformerlifeanexpat
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 04:51:00

    So did you get something to help get over what ‘ales’ you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

