Holy Hops, Batman!

Talk about a divine message on a Sunday morn!

Or might that be divine intervention?

Folks who know me know I’m a lover of beer.*

*Excluding crap ones like Bud, Coors, Miller, et. al.

Holy hops! read what awaited me in this Sunday’s email:

“The 2nd annual Tacoma Craft Beer Festival really needs your help. They just found out the liquor control will not allow the distributors to pour at the event and therefore needs volunteers to man the booths on Friday 10/1 and Saturday 10/2. If there is any way you would be able to help or know someone who may be interested, PLEASE email Enola and/or Roxi for more info.”

I’ve not moved that fast in responding since a scary dude on the street shot me an evil eye.

It’s microbrew country here in the Pacific Northwest. Which is a good thing, even essential, to cope with the dreary gray nine to 10 months of the year.

The beer’ll be flowing at this two-day event, with some 50 brewers tapped to please our palates with samples of their finest ales. For $20, you receive a 5-oz. souvenir taster glass and six tasting tokens. Which amounts to pricey pints pushing 10 bucks each. Of course it’s also about the fun and waterfront atmosphere and benefiting the Emergency Food Network.

Extra drink tokens can be had for a buck-50, and thank god! — six tastings is hardly a drop in the bucket in a smorgasbord of 50!

I’ve been so wanting to go and trying to decide whether it’s worth exchanging three weeks’ of food money for a day at the fest. Hey, I wasn’t joking about the hardships of unemployment!

There’s also this to consider: If I do go as a non-paying pourer (no, no freebies), will I be able to keep the teary coveting gleam out of the eye and the drool out of the glasses?

Decisions, decisions.

Meanwhile, the poster’s very cool. Whenever I come upon it, I see starry skies spinning and turn all silly and giddy. And yet not one sip has been supped!

Heaven on Earth

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mkirkd
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 11:41:58

    Looks like a win win for you…win if you get to pour and win if you don’t and get to drink! You go girl!

    Reply

  2. longeyesamurai
    Sep 27, 2010 @ 19:54:22

    …it’s just like the Godfather,isn’t it…

    Tacoma pulls you back in with foamy goodness. I hope you get to be on Quality Control to make sure every pull is up to the taste. 🙂

    Do you know if they’re gonna be any BC breweries over there? Have to admit I like Okanangan Springs. As for Washington beers, unfortunately none comes to mind, but I do remember trying some last summer.

    Hope you have a good time!

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 28, 2010 @ 10:40:43

      @capra – “it’s just like the Godfather, isn’t it” — God I hope not! No one gets out alive! 😀 Not sure about Canadian breweries. If you must know so to sleep, the list is here, not far down from the top. This region’s rife with local breweries; you can’t turn the corner without hitting a new one.

      Matter of fact, there’s a place I’ve been long wanting to check out called 99 Bottles. A misleading name for a store featuring 1000 beers from around the world. Imagine the glee! And the danger to the wallet! I may have to go check it out strictly for a blog entry. No sampling. Yeah, right ….

      Reply

  3. Aussie Emjay
    Sep 28, 2010 @ 16:43:37

    Love the poster though I’m not a beer drinker. Many people have tried to get me to like it though 🙂 even assuring me I would like the fruity ones or the chocolate ones but there always seems to be an undertaste that I don’t like.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 29, 2010 @ 14:11:02

      @Emjay – I remember that comment from a prior beer post – or should that be posts? No self-respecting drinker would consider fruity beers beer – lol – and I’ll admit that while I do love good chocolate, I’m no great fan of a chocolately brew except on a chilly winter’s day, when deep dark beers like porters satisfy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

