ttttttthat’s what’s what, folks

Sometimes pretending that someone else is living your life is helpful.

What the hell?!

Here’s what I mean. You’re experiencing X. Could be a problem, a story, a situation, a snippet of life, doesn’t matter.

Now detach and with a compassionate heart and alert mind view and listen to your story as if it were being lived by another.

What would you say to your friend? What insights and kernels of truth are gleaned and what feedback do you offer when your story is no longer yours and mirrored?

I was reminded of how powerful this process can be a couple nights ago.

In a moment of utter irony that surely drew a belly laugh from the Buddah, my galpal L. commented: “I was driving by that newspaper on Sixth Avenue today and thought of you. Have you tried applying there?”

“Funny you should mention that,” I winced before airing the 2-year tale of the Tacoma Turkey (two posts down) that had been brought to conclusion that very morning.

After the emotions had subsided and I viewed the experience as if it were a friend’s, I was struck by a brilliant aha! that illuminated a truth that hadn’t been so clear:

It was disrespectful for the publisher not to show up at a scheduled interview. Disrespectful, disregarding and unprofessional.

I’d have told a friend that, noted it as telling about the publisher, a workplace red flag and then I’d have said: “Run fast! Run far! You deserve better.”

(To be clear, I respond from a space of authenticity; rote or socially-popular responses (i.e., “buck up, you deserve better”) aren’t me; when class was studying that how-to chapter in the life book, I was off somewhere, doodling in my mind.)

Momentarily setting aside the slew of the newspaper’s dropped balls every step along the 2-year journey, in the end perhaps it boiled down to one simple bold truth: A publisher who displays the disrespect, disregard, discourtesy and unprofessionalism of not showing up to an interview is not someone I could work for in good conscience, enjoyment or personal integrity.

In Providence favor I was not brought aboard.

Now, in the closing words of that beloved TV classic character:

Tttttttthat's all folks!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mkirkd
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 14:15:59

    Nice finding you on WP.

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 14:35:08

    @mkirkd – Thanks. And welcome to WordPress – and its steep learning curve. 😉

    Reply

  3. Invictus
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 18:54:55

    “A publisher who displays the disrespect, disregard, discourtesy and unprofessionalism of not showing up to an interview is not someone I could work for in good conscience, enjoyment or personal integrity.” Not to mention the fact that anyone with that level of unprofessional behavior is likely to run the joint into the ground. Such a lack of commitment and professional courtesy is damned unlikely to be restricted to meeting prospective employees.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 23, 2010 @ 22:55:11

      So true. I’ve suspicions why the publisher doesn’t have to care. He is, I learned at the interview, a member of the local tribe, which as you well know means special favors, status and all sorts of nefarious deals with the state. He’s also heavily active in tribal doings, which limits his time in the office to perhaps an hour total a week. I suspect the paper’s a write-off and even if it’s not, its quality is low on his totem pole. (Hey, that was a totally haphazard freebie!)

      Reply

  4. DJ
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 19:56:54

    I like that idea. Might have to try looking at my life from that perspective and see what nuggets I dig up. I’ll remember what you learned, too.

    Reply

  5. cryinforthedyin
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 10:45:41

    Another experience in another person?..wow and whoa dogies..that could get confusing..unless left to the cartoonist..or the fabled lies of any flawed and foul politician..Peace Tony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

