Monday’s Man on the Street finally makes it in

The Monday Man on the Street was a little too long on his barstool sucking down whiskey.

He’s back on the streets now no worse for wear. For this week 2 of Allycat Asks:

What characteristic or trait do people not expect of you and/or are surprised to discover?

I’ll start because gosh dang it’s my blog!

Sense of humor. Wit.

Both tend to get missed or overlooked for my morose serious and contemplative c0untenance. You can see it even in the earliest photographs of infancy day 1. I didn’t have the fresh innocent perky face of a baby. I had the face of an old serious thinking philosopher pretending to be a baby.

I was also the spitting image of my father. He is so funny with an understated intelligent dry wit. My sister and I found him hilarious. Throughout my life, however, I’ve observed his subtle spot-on humor fly (pffffssssst) over the heads of most folks; those who do plug in come to really appreciate his unique perspectives and humor. He can have certain circles in stitches, I’m told.

It’s in the genes, this one.

Your turn.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cimmorene
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 18:09:23

    Generally speaking, when people speak to me, they are surprised to hear me swear. With these big, innocent-looking puppy eyes of mine, most people expect me to be sweet and to cringe at the slightest mention of a swear word.

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 22:31:37

    Cim – lol, good one! And such fun learning these lil’ things from the folks on the street. So to speak. I think people expect me to swear — certainly those who know me. 😉 Thanks for playing.

    Reply

  3. Country Cinderella
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 01:16:53

    I can not think of something about my personality, but people are often surprised at how long my hair is because I very seldom leave it all the way down. My hair is way too baby fine to leave it down for very long, but I just can not bring myself to cut it short, so I put it up in a clip or a ponytail.

    Reply

  4. cryinforthedyin
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 10:12:34

    I know them..that is Clark Kent from ‘Smallville’..speaking to the alien from Invasion from Mars..(the TV series)..and some other guy..HO HO HO..Peace Tony

    Reply

Leave a Reply

