a snake’s gotta shed its skin

I’m dang frustrated by the WP ways that make it difficult to wash the bloggers who annoy the hell outta me from my life.

Here, email subscribing to a blog and comments means receiving all comments. I’m not interested in hearing what everyone has to say, and certainly not those I dislike, but the only way to avoid those commenters is to avoid everyone through the unsubscribe function – not an appealing option – so I’ve been sussing out workarounds.

Increasingly Google Reader is proving to be the most efficient – and peaceful – tool to follow blogs and/or comments. Google Reader means clicking the blog’s url to comment, which is somewhat indirect but nonetheless provides an ease and flow of reading of numerous blogs (and across various platforms too) and importantly provides a means to bypass that shitload of subscription commenters’ emails dumped into the in-box.

For those blogs I wish to preserve as email subscriptions, an increasingly declining number in my favoring of Google Reader, I’ve found that the only means to sidestep the least-favorite bloggers is via email filters.

It’s really the weakness of the WP platform that makes these workarounds necessary and it’s taken quite a lot of experimenting and learning to develop a system that moves certain folks out while maintaining the presence of others. By and by WP is great; its weakness is its selectivity functions.

Perhaps one day they’ll rework those issues; in the meantime, email filters have become my friend by necessity and Google Reader an effective management tool.

Something else that may raise hackles but needs to be said nonetheless: I’ve observed a lot of clinging and/or (continued) cliquiness amongst Voxers.

I’ve responded to the relocation differently, embracing it as an opportunity to dump the detritus, sweep the house, break new ground and explore unchartered terrain and blogs sans the Vox brand.

Am I fairly alone riding the horse into the wilderness? – ’cause it sure feels so and the whistles in the air seem to sing in the affirmative.

The hour grows late so gonna mosey along now. ‘Night, all.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Country Cinderella
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:31:22

    I have been doing the ‘work arounds’ too. I use the Google Reader and email filters and I check all the box on WP that fit my needs.

    I think others are slowly feeling their way thru all these solutions too.

    I think the shock and fear associated with the change is what has so many people clinging to only their fellow ex-voxers. Once they settle in they will explore their new surroundings just as they did on Vox.

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 23:57:17

    Shock and fear? I dunno ’bout that. The handwriting was on the wall a good long while. Fear, what’s there to fear? We’re all in a new place of our choosing. We’re not wartime refugees forced into camps or earthquake survivors or drivers stranded in bad neighborhoods, situations of legitimate fear. Wish I could say otherwise but by the magnitude of the clinging and cliquiness observed and the wisdom and knowledge that life has imparted, I don’t sense that most will venture beyond their familiars. Truth is, most people are afraid of change — and the bigger the change, the greater the fear. True adventuressness and fearless embracing of the new are rare qualities. Be still and listen to the wind here, you’ll hear it.

    Reply

  3. Country Cinderella
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 00:38:16

    I knew as I typed ‘shock and fear’ that you would pick up on that and have something to say about it. Yes I know we are not war time refugees but I still think there is some shock and fear involved.

    For one, even though we saw that things were getting bad many of us did not think that 6A would just pull the Vox plug, many thought they would start asking for a pay membership to make things better, hence the shock.

    As for the fear I do not mean life threatening fear, but still a type of fear. This fear is probably that ‘fear of change’ you mentioned. For some, like you perhaps, that fear is just a little bump in the road and quickly overcome, for others, probably some of the very people you see as clingy, that fear is more of a hill and it takes them longer to get past it. Many people are used to the privacy features that Vox provided us (or at least gave us the illusion of having). Moving their blogs to a place where they are not sure how much privacy they can have, feeds that fear.

    You are probably right that some will never venture past their ‘clique’, that is their choice. For that matter they may not have done any more exploring on Vox once they found the particular ‘neighbors’ that now make up their ‘clique’, they probably found what they came searching for and that is great.

    The cool thing is that everyone does not have to follow the same patterns, if you are a timid adventurer, you can continue to be so, if you are a carefree adventurer, you are not chained down.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 00:52:31

      For one, even though we saw that things were getting bad many of us did not think that 6A would just pull the Vox plug, many thought they would start asking for a pay membership to make things better, hence the shock.

      Truth told, why wouldn’t Vox pull the plug? The site was dead, 6A no longer gave a crap about Vox, truthfully what was left to do? They did everyone, including themselves, a favor by letting go and letting it go.
      You’re right, those who cling will continue to cling; those prone to exploration will venture outward and onward. It’s sadly illuminating, I suppose, to observe very many responding to the change and the opportunity to grow and expand it presents with a fearful clinging, cliqueiness and cowardice. Where have gone the cowboys and cowgirls?

      Reply

  4. Country Cinderella
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 01:12:35

    I guess I just still feel like you are giving the other so little benefit of the doubt so to speak. You keep saying things like “It’s sadly illuminating, I suppose, to observe so very many responding to the change and the opportunity to grow and expand it presents with a fearful clinging, cliqueiness and cowardice” when it has only been a couple of weeks since we all had to change blogs. I still think that once everyone is settled in, they will do more exploring. It is just the pace at which everyone does it will be varied.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 01:21:16

      It has been so very many, a marked majority. Would it be some comfort if so were deleted? I shall do so for you. πŸ™‚ How much time do you reckon will be needed before the exploration of new terrain? A month? Shall we assess and revisit it then?

      Reply

  5. Country Cinderella
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 01:36:14

    I am not sure what you asking about deleting. As for how much time should we all to go by before assessing the situation, well my point is that we do not need to assess it at all. There is not right or wrong.

    There was just something about your post that, for whatever reason, made me feel a little defensive for all those that it sounded like you were expressing disdain toward (whether you intended it or not). I guess it is a bad habit of mine to try to keep ‘hackles’ from being raised, and in doing so I guess it made mine seem raised, even though they are not.

    Reply

    • Country Cinderella
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 01:49:51

      okay I have gone back up to the body of the post and saw that you deleted part of it. I did mean to make you feel like you should censor what you said. That is your right to say it, well I guess it is your right to delete it too so I will stop there.

      I hope you know was just engaging in an exchange of perspectives.

      Reply

      • allycatadventures
        Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:24:28

        “I did mean to make you feel like you should censor what you said. ” – sweetie, when writing’s involved, there’s no danger of that. πŸ™‚ It was a minor change toward goodwill and your comfort.

        Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:07:56

      You bolded “so very many” in your earlier comment and so I deleted the “so” to bring you comfort. πŸ™‚ By assessing, I mean to obtain a sense of increased exploration and reduced clinginess as bloggers settle in, as you predict; there is no value judgment of right or wrong. I picked up on your defensiveness. My observations are just that, observations, perceptions. If they are inaccurate or unfounded and in fact there is more embracing of the change and exploration and less clinging than have met these eyes, I welcome the correction. Please point out where I expressed any emotion like disdain in my observations.

      Reply

  6. Country Cinderella
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:32:19

    The sentence I quoted earlier, the one you have since deleted is where I felt there was a tone of disdain (if I misread that I am sorry). With the removal of that sentence your post losses some of the original bite to it.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:45:27

      Whoops! Thanks for pointing that out, I didn’t mean to delete it, rather edit and recraft as I’m wont to do with my postings. I’m up way later than I’d planned for our dialogue; that fix will have to wait until morning. ‘Night now.

      Reply

  7. Country Cinderella
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 02:51:50

    πŸ™‚ gnite, thank you for exchanging thoughts with me

    Reply

  8. praxisphotography
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 12:35:25

    Wow, now that’s a conversation!
    For one thing I don’t know what this Google Reader is *sigh*, suppose its something I need to get up to speed on. Okay, will put it on my to do list, because I really hate to sound uninformed.
    Secondly, am I the only one who feels uncomfortable when reading about someone ranting about the friends they wish to avoid? Geee, don’t you think someone might say, gosh-is she talking about me? I know, its insecure, but I can’t help it. I understand you not mentioning names, but when you throw out a comment without direction, who’s ego gets the arrow? One solution, maybe because I’m a guy, is simply to remind me that everything’s okay. I know, sounds dorky, but I worry about things like that. Hope it doesn’t offend anyone, me saying all this. Just a little bit of unhappiness from a female goes a long way with a guy. Don’t know why, but there you have it. Maybe its one of those truths like…when Momma’s not happy, ain’t no one happy. Just saying… πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 19:01:26

      lol, sweet message, Raymond. If I didn’t like you, you wouldn’t be in the ‘hood. Pretty simple, eh. This: Secondly, am I the only one who feels uncomfortable when reading about someone ranting about the friends they wish to avoid?” — this is an impossibility, I don’t wish to avoid friends, you see? I’m no Aunt Bee or social butterfly here or in my 3D life, where I’m extremely selective about friends. I don’t get to be quite that selective in the blogosphere (neither is there need) but I do prefer to maintain some semblance of a family of readers and a distance from others. As for Google Reader, it’s da bomb. Just google, well, Google Reader and you’ll be taken to a home page where you’ll create an account using an email addy. Takes some learning to set up subscriptions but I found the learning curve gentler than WP’s. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

