Monday’s Man on the Street

It’s Monday. The Man on the Street is on the move.

Truth is, it wasn’t my aspiration to be an editor/copy editor (the career path on which I landed). I knew who I was before birth, a writer, and for work I wanted to be a reporter.

In that spirit, I’m hitting the boulevards, walkways and alleys with a Man on the Street do-dad. If I like it and readers like it, I may turn it into a regular or weekly feature, akin to Monday’s Man on the Street, and I’ll call it Allycat Asks.

Yeah, that sounds purrrrrfect. Don’t expect earth-shattering questions; (do expect them to be a grade up from the Vox Question of the Day). I’ll pose whatever’s on my mind ’cause dang it! it’s my blog and I’ll do as I please!

I see it as win-win. I get to hit the streets, in the positive sense, and you the readers get to blab about yourself. And rare is the person who says no to that. So come play.

On this Monday debut, Allycat Asks: What’s your indulgence?

Secret or otherwise. No frets about being embarrassed, you’re revealing it only to me and some x-number of unseen readers. I’ll start. My indulgence is going to the bookstore cafe, buying a cup of drip coffee, or occasionally an Americano if feeling particularly flush, splashed with half-and-half, curling up in the large leather/vinyl chair and reading through the stack of celebrity gossip magazines like the Star, US, InTouch. That’s my slice of heaven. And but for the price of a cup of coffee.

And yours?

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ironyonhighheels
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 13:49:56

    A latte, sitting in the sunshine. There where doesn’t matter. Either on the top of our apartment building, in the park, in the middle of the city center. All is good as long as I am warmed by the rays of the shining planet. If I could chose I would have the eternal view of the ocean.

    Reply

  2. sharnsgarden
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:04:14

    A glass of champagne, strawberries and prawns sitting beside the ocean

    Reply

  3. Country Cinderella
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:05:51

    I do not have one specific indulgence, it all depends on the circumstances surrounding it. It could be deciding to have a specific dessert or it could be taking the time to just sit in my chair holding my chi/pom mix petting his soft fur while he snuggles my chin. Or it could be pulling off to the side of the road to take a picture of a beautiful sky shot, even though I am running late.

    Reply

  4. praxisphotography
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 14:22:49

    In the mornings I roll out of my sleeping bag in search of a cup of coffee. I usually stumble towards Mickey D’s while detouring through every fast food joint betwixt me and coffee. I try to make enough in the drive thru lanes for whatever change might be neccessary for that cup of good morning America. Sometimes its a penny, sometimes a quarter and sometimes only a straw wrapper. Every newspaper machine is fingered and banged in the hope that something that might be held up and slide down the chute of opportunity. All sixteen telephones are seriously examined, like cops who give the eye, seriously, to all the homeless looking for that cup of good morning America, and not wanting to pay the price expected. The laudrymat is not a safe place for people to leave their money behind either because I have a coat hanger hidden in case I need to check under the machines. Sometimes I even dare to spend extra time fighting the dust devils in the hope of finding enough for a biscuit. But hey, its good morning America, and ain’t it all about freedom?

    Reply

  5. praxisphotography
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 15:42:47

    🙂

    Reply

  6. katie
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 16:12:22

    Candles. Chocolate.Body wash. The occasional splurge on a meal that is a little on the expensive side. Peppermint Mochas at Starbucks at Christmastime. Just to name a few!

    Reply

  7. lexiemom
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 18:10:15

    My hubby & I are on the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace plan. So, that means every penny must be accounted for and never spent frivilously. However…I love Diet Coke. And that convenience store refrigerator beacons me sinfully with its icy, cold, 20 oz bottle of temptation. No! I tell myself. I must be strong. Why for the $1.49 (plus tax) I’d spend on this one drink, I could buy…well, something practical. Never the less, come Monday (errand day) when the kids have gotten on my last nerve and the baby is screaming and I’m standing in line with a cart filled to the brim with store brand & coupon-priced food stuffs, that fridge calls to me again like a kid on the candy aisle. And so I indulge. And its worth every penny.

    Reply

  8. Aussie Emjay
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 18:27:44

    Good chocolate with some nice red wine.

    Reply

  9. Enter the Greenhouse
    Sep 13, 2010 @ 20:39:58

    A glass of BC white wine. Good Swiss chocolate. An hour of reading a good book UNINTERRUPTED.

    Reply

  10. Cimmorene
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 08:24:22

    My particular indulgence involves locking the bathroom door, filling the bathtub with hot water, sometimes spiked with sweetsmelling bubblebath, and sinking down into it while working on one of my puzzle books. (It’s no secret. I can’t do nothing for long periods of time. It makes my brain go nuts)

    Reply

  11. DJ
    Sep 16, 2010 @ 20:06:28

    Mine is Free Espresso Friday. Not my blog, but Fridays at my favorite coffee shop. They give away free espresso. I’m a happy boy when I get my free espresso. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

